Research Guide: Academic English Studies
-
Current Course Reserves
Reserves lists for AES classes
-
Course guides
-
Understanding how books are organized in the library
- Library of Congress Classification
- Outline of the LC Classification system (more info)
- Map of Watzek
- Need to find a book--or just the bathroom? Here is a floor plan of Watzek. (more info)
-
Dictionaries
- American Heritage dictionary for learners of English
- Especially designed to suit the needs of ESL students. With an up-to-date word list and definitions adapted from The American Heritage Dictionary databases, abundant sample sentences and phrases, and an easy-to-use alphabetic pronunciation system all provide an excellent learning tool.
- Foreign Language Dictionaries
- Links to online foreign language dictionaries
- Oxford English Dictionary
- Provides authoritative definitions and traces the usage of words from their first recorded occurrence to the modern period. (more info)
-
Current Events
- CQ Global Researcher
- In-depth coverage of global affairs from a number of international viewpoints. (more info)
- CQ Researcher
- Full text of CQ Researcher reports on major U.S. social, economic and political issues. (more info)
- Economist Debates Library
- See arguments for and against current events questions designated by the Economist. (more info)
- Congressional Digest Debates Online (formerly Pro & Con Online)
- A database of issues covered by Congressional Digest, Supreme Court Debates and International Debates since 1998. (more info)
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context
- Provides a one-stop source for information and opposing viewpoints on current social issues (more info)
- ProCon.org
- ProCon.org is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit public charity. The site provides over 1,000 questions on controversial issues with over 7,500 pro, con, and not clearly pro or con statements. Entries include date and source information for all research cited, and over 4,800 biographies for the sources used on the sites. (more info)
- Room for Debate Blog-NYT.com
- Great resource for browsing controversial topics of the day, with arguments that examine all sides of an issue. (more info)
-
Journal, Magazine and Newspaper Articles
- Academic Search Complete
- Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. (more info)
- Academic OneFile
- Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. (more info)
- LexisNexis Academic
- Full text of national, regional, and international newspapers, business, and legal sources and more. (more info)
- MasterFILE Premier
- Full text of general interest periodicals and other materials. (more info)
- Newspaper Source
- Selected full text for 300 U.S. and international newspapers. (more info)
- Project Muse
- A unique collaboration between libraries and the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, providing 100% full-text, online access to over 400 titles from prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Browse by discipline and select folklore under social sciences (more info)
- World News Connection
- Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, the information in WNC covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. (more info)
-
General Research Tools
- Britannica Online
- Online edition of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. Includes a dictionary and thesaurus. (more info)
- Oxford Reference Online
- Electronic version of Oxford reference across a broad range of topics. Full-text. (more info)
- Wikipedia
- A free-content encyclopedia in many languages that anyone can edit. (more info)
-
Readers
- Penguin Readers Level 3
- Penguin Readers can be found in the Watzek Stacks in PE1128.P46. Or use the link to see a list. (more info)
- Penguin Readers Level 4
- Penguin Readers can be found in the Watzek Stacks in PE1128.P46. Or use the link to see a list. (more info)
- Penguin Readers Level 5
- Penguin Readers can be found in the Watzek Stacks in PE1128.P46. Or use the link to see a list. (more info)
- Penguin Active Reading Level 3
- The Penguin Active Reading series can be found in Watzek stacks PE1128.P458. Or use the link for a list. (more info)
- Penguin Active Learning Level 4
- The Penguin Active Reading series can be found int PE1128.P458. Or use the link for a list. (more info)


