Research Guide: Music

Current Course Reserves

Reserves lists for Music courses

Online Encyclopedias

Oxford Music Online
The comprehensive music encyclopedia. Helps locate scores in large sets. (more info)
All Music Guide from AMG
Brief biographies and extensive discographies of recorded music from the 1920's onwards. Includes histories of different styles of music and recommends key recordings by the musicians.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music
Not as comprehensive as the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, and derived from the The Oxford Dictionary of Music, this concise edition is provides thousands of entries on musical terms, works, composers, librettists, musicians, singers, and orchestras, the dictionary's coverage is exceptional, giving comprehensive work-lists for major composers, detailed entries on living composers and performers, important ballets and operas, as well as descriptions of musical instruments and their histories.

Online Scores

Naxos Music Library: Sheet Music
Contains thousands of original scores from the world�s leading music publishers (more info)
Online Musical Scores
More digitized scores from the library of the Hoosiers. It's not complete, but it is an experimental prototype of online musical score access.
Online Opera Scores Prototype
From the Cook Music Library at Indiana University
Session.org
Traditional Irish music
Sheet Music Collections
An annotated guide to online sheet music collections from Lois Schultz of Duke University and the Music Library Association.

Online streaming music from Watzek

Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library is a collection of classical music available online. It includes the complete Naxos, Marco Polo and Dacapo catalogues of over 85,000 tracks, including Classical music, Jazz, World, Folk and Chinese music. (more info)
Naxos Music Library: Jazz
Offers close to 22,600 tracks of jazz from over 2,300 albums from Naxos Jazz and the 22 labels of Fantasy Jazz. (more info)

Music Databases

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Provides abstracts of articles from over 5000 journals, books, reviews, dissertations, etc., in the field of music. (1969-present) (more info)
Music Index Online
(Public Library Database)

Indexes articles from more than 670 international music periodicals. (more info)

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier
Indexes and abstracts more than 8,300 journals; almost 4,700 of these titles are in full text. (more info)
Arts & Humanities Citation Search
Contains records referencing arts and humanities subjects. (Tip: in an Author search, use the last name and first initial). (more info)
Early English Books Online - EEBO
EEBO contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 (more info)
JSTOR
Full text of scholarly journals, from earliest issues up to 3-5 years ago. (more info)
New York Times - Historical
Provides access to full text articles, photos, and advertisements in the New York Times from 1851 through 2003. (more info)
Project Muse
Full text articles from scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. (more info)

Music Metapages

MCL's Guide to Music
A collection on Internet sites created by the music librarians at Multnomah County Public Library. Includes sites for CascadeLink: Portland Music | Choral Music Composers, Early Music, 19th Century Music,20th Century Music, Copyright & Music Publishers, General Reference & Theory, Film Music, Folk & World Music, Jazz & Blues, Music Events, Festivals, Education, Musical Instruments, Operas/Musicals , Popular Music, Song Indexes.
Sibelius Academy
The Sibelius Academy, a conservatory in Helsinki, provides a list of music sites. It not only links you to jazz, blues, rock, and pop pages but covers famous composers, gospel, instruments, research, theory, and opera as well.
Sites of Interest to Musicologists
The American Musicological Society was founded in 1934 as a non-profit organization to advance research in the various fields of music as a branch of learning and scholarship.
UCB Music Library
Another guide to music resources on the Internet.

Specific Genres

African Music
Contemporary African musicians by country and name indexes; a glossary of African music; sources for recordings.
All About Jazz
Cool online Jazz magazine with reviews, interviews, and calendars.
Andante
Classical Music's most promiment web site, according to Russle Platt of the New Yorker magazine.
Amazon's Classical Music Search
A sweet search engine for classical music that is still for sale.
Center for the History of Music Theory and Literature
Includes Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology, Texts on Music in English from the Medieval and Early Modern Eras,Musical Borrowing: An Annotated Bibliography, in addition to Thesaurus Musicarum Latinarum (TML) and Thesaurus musicarum italicarum.
CD Hotlist
A monthly review source created by a music librarian for music librarians.
Ceolas: Celtic Music
The traditional music of Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and to Celtic music in the United States and Canada. Extensive collection of tunes & songs online, instrument, books, music festivals, and concert schedules.
ChoralNet
A central portal to online resources and communications for the global choral music community.
Classics Today
Excellent source for current reviews of classical music. Updated daily.
Classical Net
Classical Net features 2400 CD reviews, as well as 5700 files and over 4000 links to other classical music web sites.
Operabase
International site for opera schedules and reviews; touring schedules for singers; historical background of composers and works.
Red Hot Jazz Archive
A history of jazz before 1930 offering RealAudio files as well as biographies & discographies.

Return to Research Guides and Databases by Subject

This page maintained by Dan Kelley dkelley@lclark.edu. Updated January 14th, 2009.