Research Guide: International Affairs

Current Course Reserves

Reserves lists for IA courses

Research Guides for specific courses

International Affairs Databases

Columbia International Affairs Online
International affairs resource; includes journals, books, policy briefs and working papers. (more info)
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science, international relations, law, and public administration & policy. (more info)
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports, Major Studies and Issue Briefs
Boley Law Library's guide to to CRS studies and reports. (more info)
PAIS International and PAIS Archive
Indexes articles on a wide range of public policy topics, national and international. (more info)
Praeger Security International
A high quality one-stop source for information on terrorism and security. (more info)
HeinOnline
Exact page images of law journals, U.S. Reports, Federal Register, and treaty & international agreements etc. (more info)
Annual Reviews
Identifies and synthesizes primary research literature in 33 scholarly fields. (more info)

International Affairs-Related Databases

FIRST
Covers areas in the field of international relations and security, includes hard facts on armed conflicts and peace keeping, arms production and trade, military expenditure, armed forces and conventional weapons holding, nuclear weapons, chronology, statistics and other reference data.
Homeland Security Digital Library
The HSDL collection includes homeland security strategy, policy and research documents. (more info)
Pro & Con Online
A database of issues covered by Congressional Digest, Supreme Court Debates and International Debates since 1998. (more info)
Social Sciences Citation Index
A part of the Web of Science database, the SSCI tracks 'who's citing whom' in the social sciences. (more info)

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier
Indexes and abstracts more than 8,300 journals; almost 4,700 of these titles are in full text. (more info)
America: History and Life
Indexes the scholarly literature on the history of the U.S. and Canada. Includes links to full text of the articles also included in JSTOR. (more info)
CQ Global Researcher
In-depth coverage of global affairs from a number of international viewpoints. (more info)
CQ Researcher
Full text of CQ Researcher reports on major U.S. social, economic and political issues. (more info)
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1974 - 1996
Created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit policy makers and analysts, FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events translated into English. (more info)
Historical Abstracts
Indexes the scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the U.S. and Canada. (more info)
JSTOR
Full text of scholarly journals, from earliest issues up to 3-5 years ago. (more info)
Left Index
Leads to articles in left-leaning periodicals about politics, economics, and society. (more info)
LexisNexis Academic
Full text of national, regional, and international newspapers, business, and legal sources and more. (more info)
Project Muse
Full text articles from scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. (more info)
World News Connection
Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, the information in WNC covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. (more info)

International Affairs Metasites

GlobalSecurity.org
GlobalSecurity.org is focused on innovative approaches to the emerging security challenges of the new millennium. The organization seeks to reduce reliance on nuclear weapons and the risk of their use -- both by existing nuclear weapons states and those states seeking to acquire such capabilities. GlobalSecurity.org aims to shift American conventional military forces towards new capabilities aligned with the post-Cold War security environment, and to reduce the worldwide incidence of deadly conflict.
H-net
An international consortium of scholars and teachers, H-Net creates and coordinates Internet networks with the common objective of advancing teaching and research in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. H-Net is committed to pioneering the use of new communication technology to facilitate the free exchange of academic ideas and scholarly resources. Go here to see a list of H-net's subcategories in the Humanities and Social Sciences.
International Crisis Group
The International Crisis Group (ICG) is an independent, non-profit, non-governmental organization, with over 130 staff members on five continents, working through field-based analysis and high-level advocacy to prevent and resolve deadly conflict. ICG's approach is grounded in field research. Teams of political analysts are located within or close by countries at risk of outbreak, escalation or recurrence of violent conflict. Based on information and assessments from the field, ICG produces regular analytical reports containing practical recommendations targeted at key international decision-takers.
International Relations Resources
From the Fletcher School at Tufts University
National Security Archive
Combines a unique range of functions in one non governmental, non-profit institution. The Archive is simultaneously a research institute on international affairs, a library and archive of declassified U.S. documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act, a public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information through the FOIA, and an indexer and publisher of the documents in books, microfiche, and electronic formats. The Archive's approximately $1.8 million yearly budget comes from publication revenues and from private philanthropists such as the Carnegie Corporation, the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation, and the Ford Foundation.  As a matter of policy, the Archive receives no government funding.
Richard Kimber's Political Science Resources
This meta-site provides links to hundreds of useful sites, and has excellent international coverage. Topics include: official government websites, elections, constitutions, theory, local government, and more. Emphasizes UK politics.
Worldwide Links
Links for IA chosen by the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace which publishes Foreign Policy.
WWW Virtual Library- International Affairs
This section of the WWW Virtual Library system presents over 2600 annotated links in a wide range of international affairs, international studies, and international relations topics. Most of the sites are in English and are carefully selected for their long-term value, favoring those with cost-free, high-quality information and analysis online.

Country Information

Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights, and Labor
This website from the US State Dept tracks US efforts to promote democracy in different counrties around the globe. Also includes country profiles of the status of human rights, labor, and religious freedom.
CIA World Factbook
A comprehensive resource of facts and statistics on more than 250 countries and other entities.
Country Indicators for Foreign Policy
The CIFP represents an on-going effort to identify and assemble statistical information conveying the key features of the economic, political, social and cultural environments of countries around the world. Country indicators are presented in unadjusted form and are converted to 9-point indices for ease of interpretation. The cross-national data generated through the CIFP was intended to have a variety of applications in government departments, NGOs, and by users in the private sector
Country Studies
The Country Studies Series contains the electronic versions of books previously published by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress. It presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world; it examines the interrelationships of those systems and the ways they are shaped by cultural factors. At present, 102 countries and regions are covered. Notable omissions include Canada, the United States, France, the United Kingdom, and other Western nations, as well as a number of African nations. Because the original intent of the Series' sponsor was to focus primarily on lesser known areas of the world, or regions in which U.S. forces might be deployed, the series is not all-inclusive.The date of information for each country appears on the title page of each country and at the end of each section of text.
Freedom House
Freedom House is a leading advocate of the world's young democracies, which are coping with the debilitating legacy of statism, dictatorship, and political repression. It conducts an array of U.S. and overseas research, advocacy, education, and training initiatives that promote human rights, democracy, free market economics, the rule of law, independent media, and U.S. engagement in international affairs.

United Nations

United Nations
The official website for the UN. This site provides access to UN news and information, online databases, documents and publications, and more. Try the UN library's website or Yale University's UN Scholar's Workstation to learn about the bewildering world of UN Documents. The University of Washington is the closest UN Depository Library .
United Nations Scholars' Workstation
This site at Yale University is a collection of texts, finding aids, data sets, maps, and other resources. It supports teaching and research of the United Nations.
UN Documentation Research Guide
This guide is designed for researchers and information professionals with an interest in United Nations documentation. It presents an overview of the various types of documents and publications issued by the Organization (e.g, reports, resolutions, meeting records, sales publications, press releases) and gives guidance on how to work with them. The Research Guide also provides information on actions taken by the General Assembly as well as the Security Council and introduces researchers to major fields of UN activities: disarmament, human rights, international law and peacekeeping.

Think Tanks and Reports

Brookings Institute Foreign Policy Studies
Brookings Institute is a centrist to liberal-left research institution, and is one the first, and most prominent Washington think-tanks.
Carnegie Endowment For International Peace
Founded in 1910, the Carnegie Endowment is a private nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing cooperation among nations and promoting active international engagement by the United States.
Center for Strategic and International Studies
CSIS is a research institution focusing on international policy and security, and the a lesser extent economic and domestic policy. CSIS tends to be hawkish and publishes Washington Quarterly.
Council on Foreign Relations
"The Council on Foreign Relations is dedicated to increasing America’s understanding of the world and contributing ideas to U.S. foreign policy. The Council accomplishes this mainly by promoting constructive debates and discussions, clarifying world issues, and publishing Foreign Affairs (see below), the leading journal on global issues"
Foreign Policy Research Institute
A hawkish think-tank that includes essays by writers such as R. James Woolsey, Michael Radu, George P. Shultz, Al Haig, and Jeremy Black. The Watzek Library subscribes to a journal the FPRI publishes entitled ORBIS.
Institute for Foreign Policy Analysis
Founded in 1976, the Institute for Foreign Policy Analysis (IFPA) is an independent, nonpartisan research organization that specializes in issues of national security, foreign policy, and defense planning issues. The IFPA is associated with the Fletcher School of Diplomacy.
Institute for Media, Peace and Security
A research tool for media, peace and security issues.
United States Institute of Peace Peacewatch
Peace Watch is published five times a year by the United States Institute of Peace, an independent, nonpartisan federal institution created by Congress to promote the peaceful resolution of international conflicts. The views expressed herein do not necessarily reflect the views of the Institute or its Board of Directors. Peace Watch Online began with the June 1996 issue. Note: most recent issue is April/May 2006.
United States Institute of Peace Reports
Includes timely reports in these programs: Balkans Initiative; Iraq Program; Muslim World Initiative; Philippine Facilitation Project; Religion and Peacemaking; Rule of Law; Virtual Diplomacy. Browse reports by region or by year. Some reports available in Arabic.

Federal Government

Foreign Relations of the United States
The Foreign Relations of the United States series "presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity." The series began in 1861 and now comprises more than 350 individual volumes." Selected volumes of the series are available online.
Oxford Guide to the United States Government
Compiled by three leading scholars, it contains the key figures, events, and structures that have animated U.S. government for more than 200 years. In addition to coverage of the 2000 Presidential race and election, it features biographies of all the Presidents, Vice Presidents, and Supreme Court Justices, as well as notable members of Congress, including current leadership; historical commentary on past elections, major Presidential decisions, international and domestic programs, and the key advisors and agencies of the executive branch; in-depth analysis of Congressional leadership and committees, agencies and staff, and historic legislation; and detailed discussions of 100 landmark Supreme Court cases and the major issues facing the Court today. Other entries define legal terms and phrases and elaborate on the wide array of government traditions.

Statistics Sources

ICPSR: Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
The largest archive of computer-readable social science data in the world. Holdings of over 5,300 titles and over 100,000 unique files. You must create an individual account to download the files. (more info)

Return to Research Guides and Databases by Subject

This page maintained by Dan Kelley dkelley@lclark.edu. Updated September 23rd, 2009.