Research Guide: East Asian Studies
-
East Asian Studies Databases
-
Berkshire Encyclopedia of China
-
Provides insight into Chinese history and culture today in nearly a thousand articles that include everything from Adoption and Banking to Wound Literature and the Zhou Dynasty. Designed for students, teachers, businesspeople, government officials, and tourists seeking a greater understanding of China today. (more info)
-
Bibliography of Asian Studies
- References western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971. (more info)
-
Archives Unbound (Trial Expires March 1)
- 30-day trial of all Archive Unbound subject packages. Excellent for subject-based primary sources. After entering link above, click on "Access Trial" to begin. (more info)
-
East Asian Studies-related Databases
-
ARTstor
- ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of millions of images across a variety of subjects, contributed by museums, artist estates, and a variety of institutions. View, present, and collect images with ARTstor for research and intstruction. CHECK OUT Lewis & Clark's collections on your home screen! (more info)
-
CiNii (Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator)
- CiNii (pronounced "sigh-knee") searches academic papers and articles published in Japan. (more info)
-
Columbia International Affairs Online
- International affairs resource; includes journals, books, policy briefs and working papers. (more info)
-
Historical Abstracts
- Indexes the scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Includes article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present. See "America: History and Life" for U.S. and Canadian history. (more info)
-
Sociological Abstracts
- One of the most important indexes to the literature of sociology, cultural anthropology and related disciplines. Indexes 1800+ journals and other literature. (more info)
-
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
- Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science, international relations, law, and public administration & policy. (more info)
-
Multi-Disciplinary Databases
-
Academic Search Complete
- Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. (more info)
-
Gale Virtual Reference Library
- A collection of full-text, multi-volume reference titles in a range of subject areas. (more info)
-
JSTOR
- Use the advanced search function to search within the folklore discipline. (more info)
-
LexisNexis Academic
- Full text of national, regional, and international newspapers, business, and legal sources and more. (more info)
-
Project Muse
- A unique collaboration between libraries and the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, providing 100% full-text, online access to over 400 titles from prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Browse by discipline and select folklore under social sciences (more info)
-
East Asian Studies Websites
-
Modern Chinese Literature and Culture (MCLC) Resource Center
- The Modern Chinese Literature and Culture Resource Center contains, among other things, bibliographies of mostly English-language materials on modern Chinese literature, film, art and culture. The resource is both browsable by topic and has a search engine. It is maintained by Kirk A. Denton at the Department of East Asian Languages and Literatures, The Ohio State University. (more info)
-
Japanese American Relocation Digital Archives (JARDA)
- Part of California Digital Library. Contains thousands of Japanese American internment primary source materials including personal histories, letters and diaries. also included are official documents related to day-to-day life in the camps. (more info)
-
Visualising China
- An interactive website of historical Chinese photographs from 1850-1950. (more info)
-
Asia Resources on the WWW
- An extensive list of online resources, compiled since July 1996 for publication in the Asian Studies Newsletter. In addition to links to individual countries, there are links to types of resources: videos, newspapers, journals, dictionaries, libraries and art.
-
Asian Studies WWW Virtual Library
- ASVL offers an authoritative, large-scale, subject-oriented scholarly guide to over 10,000 Internet resources in Asian studies from around the globe. (more info)