Research Guide: Theatre, Film & Dance
-
Guides for Theatre Research
-
Theater and Dance Research Guide, Yale University
- This is the the Theater and Dance Research Guide from Yale University Library. It is designed for Yale students, but there is much here that may be used by the general public, such as the links under Reference Sources (more info)
-
Library of Congress Online Encyclopedia
- The Performing Arts Encyclopedia provides information about the Library of Congress' unsurpassed collections of scores, sheet music, audio recordings, films, photographs, and other materials. Users can find digitized items from the collections; special Web presentations on topics and collections; articles and biographical essays; finding aids to collections; databases for performing arts resources; information on concerts at the Library; and a special Performing Arts Resource Guide which contains entries for hundreds of Library collections, Web sites, databases and exhibits. (more info)
-
Internet Theatre Database
- Similar to the Internet Movie Database (IMdb.com), this site is searchable by show, person, theatre, song title, character/role, and production role; there is also an advanced search option.
-
Dramatists Play Service, Inc.
- Source for purchase of American plays of the past 50 years.
-
A Brief Guide to Internet Resources in Theatre and Performance Studies
- Contains links to comprehensive sites, often unique or interesting, which are productive for researchers. (more info)
-
Internet Broadway Database
- IBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today. (more info)
-
Official Website for George and Ira Gershwin
- Includes a history, timeline, anthology of both theatrical and film productions, and bibliography. (more info)
-
History, Theory, & Criticism Research Guide: Theater & Dance, Yale
- Helpful guide to resources on history, theory and criticism on theater and dance - especially the web links at the bottom. (more info)
-
Multi-Disciplinary Databases
-
Academic Search Complete
- Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. (more info)
-
JSTOR
- Use the advanced search function to search within the folklore discipline. (more info)
-
Project Muse
- A unique collaboration between libraries and the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, providing 100% full-text, online access to over 400 titles from prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Browse by discipline and select folklore under social sciences (more info)
-
ARTbibliographies Modern
- Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, performance art, and the practice of art fields, including curating, arts education, and art therapy. Full coverage begins in 1974, but articles date back to the late 1960s. (more info)
-
MLA Bibliography
- Literature, language, linguistics, folklore. (more info)
-
INTER-PLAY
- Gives locations of printed plays in collections, anthologies and periodicals at Portland State University. (more info)
-
America: History and Life
- Indexes the scholarly literature on the history of the U.S. and Canada. Includes links to full text of the articles also included in JSTOR. (more info)
-
Historical Abstracts
- Indexes the scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Includes article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present. See "America: History and Life" for U.S. and Canadian history. (more info)
-
Primary sources
-
ArchiveGrid
- ArchiveGrid provides online access to nearly a million descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. Includes access to collections held by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, the Art Institute of Chicago, Smithsonian Institution - Archives of American Art, New York Public Library, and many more: listed on their homepage. (more info)
-
OAIster
- Digital resources from open archive collections, including: digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, movies
& datasets.
(more info)
-
American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I
- Facsimile images of approximately 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. (more info)
-
Europeana (Europe)
- Explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. More than 15 million items, including Images (paintings, drawings, maps, photos and pictures of museum objects); Texts (books, newspapers, letters, diaries and archival papers); Sounds (music and spoken word from cylinders, tapes, discs and radio broadcasts); and Videos (films, newsreels and TV broadcasts).
-
Theatre, Film, & Dance in the News
-
New York Times
- Use the authentication page for the login and password to access articles from 2010-present via nytimes.com. (more info)
-
New York Times - Historical
- Provides access to full text articles, photos, and advertisements in the New York Times from 1851 through 2009. (more info)
-
LexisNexis Academic
- Full text of national, regional, and international newspapers, business, and legal sources and more. (more info)
-
Newspaper Source
- Selected full text for 300 U.S. and international newspapers. (more info)
-
Readers' Guide Retrospective
- Index of more than 3 million articles from 375 popular and general-interest periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada. (1890-1982) (more info)
-
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
- Look here for magazine articles on your film. For example, Watzek has print subscriptions to Time and Life magazines going back to the thirties. The Readers' Guide is an index to these and other magazines from 1890-the present.
-
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
- "The world's most extensive and complete archive of television news"..."recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968." (more info)
-
Wall Street Journal
- Access articles from this paper from 1959-present on microform.
-
Shakespeare Resources
-
BBC Shakespeare
- All 37 BBC-produced Shakespeare plays; each can be watched in its entirety, or by individual act . (more info)
-
Folger Shakespeare Library
- Home to the world’s largest and finest collection of Shakespeare materials and to major collections of other rare Renaissance books, manuscripts, and works of art, the Folger is a world-renowned research center on Shakespeare and on the early modern age in the West. Access its Digital Image collection or its many research tools under "Discover Shakespeare." (more info)
-
Complete works of Shakespeare, online from MIT
- Started in 1993, this site links to all works by Shakespeare. (more info)
-
Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet
- A guide to resources on the web, with notes on attributions, research and prefaces to Shakespeare's works. (more info)
-
Shakespeare Resources, from the Colorado Shakespeare Festival
- Includes teaching and learning links, plays, monologues and sonnets, research and bios, folios, images, and much much more! (more info)
-
Dance Resources
-
Jacob's Pillow Dance Interactive
- Jacob's Pillow Dance Festival is a National Historic Landmark, recipient of the prestigious National Medal of Arts, and home to America's longest-running international dance festival. Inside this online exhibit view brief performance excerpts spanning from 1930s dance pioneers to today's most exciting artists. All recorded at Jacob's Pillow, this collection expands each month. (more info)
-
CyberDance
- Collection of over 3,500 links to classical ballet and modern dance resources.
-
Critical Dance
- Forum and magazine dedicated to ballet (more info)
-
Dance Links
- Links to a wide range of dance. This site has extensive indexes of links to dance companies of all styles and from all countries. The "Miscellaneous Dance Resources" and "Dance Web Indices" sections have links on a wide array of dance-related topics, including health, medicine, and physiology; history, research, and reference; production resources; dance photography and videography; and many more.
-
Online Ballet Dictionary:American Ballet Theatre
- Composed of 170 terms from "Technical Manual & Dictionary of Classical Ballet" published by Dover.
-
Best of the Web: Dance
- Since 1994, gathering the "best of the web" for different subjects. (more info)
-
Film and Video Resources
-
The Internet Archive
- The Internet Archive is a 501(c)(3) non-profit that was founded to build an Internet library. Its purposes include offering permanent access for researchers, historians, scholars, people with disabilities, and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format. Founded in 1996, the organization has grown to include texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages in their collections. (more info)
-
Internet Movie Database
- Source for purchase of films. Includes Awards lists, movie news and trivia.
-
New York Public Library Best of the Web: Film
- From one of the premier libraries in performing arts in the country. Links on film topics such as genres, history, independent films, industry news and statistics, production, screenwriting, film festivals, stock footage resources, film schools, and international resources.
-
Duke Univ's Film Resources on the Web
- Guide to resources on subject areas, reference, databases, film festivals, world cinema, and more. (more info)