Research Guide: Math & Computer Science

Math & Computer Science Databases

ACM: Association for Computing Machinery
The full text of every article published by ACM! (more info)
Computer Source
Full text for more than 300 publications covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. (more info)
MathSciNet
Comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940 (more info)
Computing Reviews
Reviews of current research, theory and applications in all subdisciplines of computing (more info)

Math & Computer Science-Related Databases

Ingenta
Citations to over 31,000 journals in all subject areas, searchable by keyword, title words, or journal name. (more info)
Science Citation Index
A part of the Web of Science, the SCI searches the references (citations) found in journal articles in the sciences. (more info)
Web of Science
Use Web of Science and other Citation Indexes to discover articles that have cited a specific article or author. (more info)

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier
Indexes and abstracts more than 8,300 journals; almost 4,700 of these titles are in full text. (more info)
JSTOR
Full text of scholarly journals, from earliest issues up to 3-5 years ago. (more info)

Math Websites

American Mathematical Society
Since 1996 all journals of the Society have been available in electronic form over the web. Mathematical Reviews is available as MathSciNet, providing access to the mathematical literature from 1940 until the present.
Math2
Includes math reference tables, an interactive area, and links to other math-related sites on the Web.
MacTutor History of Mathematics
Provided by the University of St. Andrews, Scotland, MacTutor is a comprehensive archive that contains biographies of over 1100 mathematicians, from Niels Abel to Antoni Zygmund. The site is searchable, and is one of the most exhaustive mathematics history sites on the Internet.
Materials Organized by Mathematical Topic
This site from the American Mathematical Society links to electronic journals, preprints, Web sites and pages, databases and other pertinent material in the corresponding field.
Math Archives
The Math Archives of the University of Tennessee-Knoxville specialize in teaching resources in Mathematics, but are also an excellent repository for mathematics software, bibliographies, and preprints. The Archives contain a good selection of both K-12 and higher education resources.
Mathematical Association of America
The Mathematical Association of America (MAA) is the world's largest organization devoted to the interests of collegiate mathematics.
Mathematics WWW Virtual Library
From Florida State University
Problem Corner
Contains a searchable database of over 20,000 math problems. Searchable fields include Problem Text, Proposal Author, Solution Author, Title, Comment Text, and Comment Author. The database references 20000 math problems from 38 journals and 21 contests.
Wolfram Functions Site
A site devoted to functions of all sorts!

Computer Science & Computers

Librarian's Internet Index: Computers
Search the site, or browse the directory of subtopics, such as artificial intelligence, human-computer interaction, programming languages, and much more. Resources are annotated links.
Resource Center for Cyberculture Studies
The Resource Center for Cyberculture Studies is an online, not-for-profit organization whose purpose is to research, study, teach, support, and create diverse and dynamic elements of cyberculture. Currently, the site contains a collection of scholarly resources, including university-level courses in cyberculture, events and conferences, and an extensive annotated bibliography, and a monthly book review.
Reference Desk Help

Hours: Mon-Fri 9am-5pm, Sun 1pm-5pm

Phone: (503)768-7285

Email: refdesk@lclark.edu

Chat with Reference Desk

Return to Research Guides and Databases by Subject

This page maintained by Mark Dahl dahl@lclark.edu. Updated December 18th, 2008.