Research Guide: Environmental Studies
-
Multi-disciplinary databases
-
Academic Search Complete
- Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. (more info)
-
Academic OneFile
- Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. (more info)
-
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
- A part of the Web of Science database, the AHCI tracks 'who's citing whom' in the arts and humanities. Coverage is 1980-present. (more info)
-
ARTstor
- ARTstor is a nonprofit digital library of millions of images across a variety of subjects, contributed by museums, artist estates, and a variety of institutions. View, present, and collect images with ARTstor for research and intstruction. CHECK OUT Lewis & Clark's collections on your home screen! (more info)
-
Early English Books Online - EEBO
- EEBO contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 (more info)
-
Eighteenth Century Collections Online - ECCO
- ECCO delivers the full-text and page images of every significant English-language and
foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with
thousands of important works from the Americas. (more info)
-
Google Scholar
- Google's academic search engine now has links to the full text that Watzek Library provides. (more info)
-
JSTOR
- Use the advanced search function to search within the folklore discipline. (more info)
-
L&C WorldCat
- Discovery tool that allows users to find materials at L&C, in Summit, and in libraries around the world. Also includes some journal articles from specific databases like MEDLINE (medicine and health), ERIC (education), GPO (U.S. government publications), ArticleFirst and British Library Serials. (more info)
-
LexisNexis Academic
- Full text of national, regional, and international newspapers, business, and legal sources and more. (more info)
-
PAIS International
- Indexes articles on a wide range of public policy topics, national and international. (more info)
-
Web of Science
- Use one or more of the Citation Indexes in the Web of Science to discover articles that have cited a specific article or author. (more info)
-
Specific databases/resources related to the environment
-
Biodiversity Heritage Library
- The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.” To perform a simple search of BHL, enter an EXACT PHRASE such as "proceedings of the academy" (without quotation marks). Entering keywords such as "proceedings academy" will not return results. (more info)
-
Country Analysis Briefs (U.S. Energy Information Administration)
- The site provides data on global and local energy use and outlooks. Visitors can access Country Analysis Briefs by selecting from the nine initial clickable regions on the main visual map and then choosing from 85 subregions. Online reports for each region/country include sections on background and profile, types of energy, lists of data sources, and links to relevant sites. The Special Topics section provides fact sheets and pertinent reports such as "Global Energy Sanctions" and "World Oil Transit Chokepoints". (more info)
-
Earth and Planetary Sciences
- Describes and evaluates recent noteworthy publications in the field. Chapters are written by specialists on topics of current interest and varying scope. Includes bibliographies. Online access is back to 1973.
-
Encyclopedia of Earth
- An electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The EoE is a free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, practitioners and other experts who collaborate and review each other's work. (more info)
-
Environmental History Bibliography
- The Bibliography contains over 40,000 annotated citations to books, articles, and dissertations published from 1633 to the present and is updated online quarterly. Approximately 1500 citations are added each year. Items are selected because they provide a historical perspective on a wide range of topics, from Atmospheric Sciences, to Nature in Art and Literature, to Wildlife conservation & biodiversity.
-
Interdisciplinary Studies in Literature and Environment
- ISLE: Interdisciplinary Studies in Literature and Environment seeks to explore the relation between human beings and the natural world, and publishes articles from literary scholars, environmental historians, specialists in the visual and performing arts, environmental philosophers, geographers, economists, ecologists, and scholars in other fields relevant to "literature and environment." (more info)
-
National Academies Press
- Over 4,000 free PDF versions of published books. "NAP produces more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the best-informed views on important issues." (more info)
-
National Council for Science and the Environment: CRS Reports
- The National Library for the Environment currently posts over 1700 CRS Reports on environmental and related topics. The Congressional Research Service (CRS), part of the Library of Congress, prepares its reports for the U.S. Congress.
-
Social Explorer
- Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present. (more info)
-
State of the World's Forests
- "The State of the World's Forests reports on the status of forests, recent major policy and institutional developments and key issues concerning the forest sector." (more info)
-
Encyclopedias
-
Encyclopedia of Earth
- An electronic reference about the Earth, its natural environments, and their interaction with society. The EoE is a free, expert-reviewed collection of content contributed by scholars, professionals, educators, practitioners and other experts who collaborate and review each other's work. (more info)
-
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society
- This resource assembles information from numerous fields of knowledge relevant to the study of environmental issues, including biology, geology, anthropology, demographics, genetics, and engineering, and explains the interrelationships of these issues in easily understood terms. (more info)
-
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues
- Provides overviews of issues, concepts and organizations relevant to the study of environmental matters. Includes suggestions for further reading and research.
-
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
- Print resource. Explores the nutritional and cultural impact of food, with articles written by anthropologists, chefs, food historians, nutritionists, agronomists, food stylists, and other food researches. (more info)
-
Encyclopedia of political science
- Online only. Comprehensively examines the central ideas, concepts, and frameworks underlying the study of politics and highlights the intersections of politics with other disciplines. There is another ebook verions here: http://watzek.worldcat.org/oclc/655243130 (more info)
-
Encyclopedia of Urban Cultures : cities and cultures around the world
- Print resource. Describes and analyzes nearly 240 country capitals and urban areas with a population of at least 25,000 (more info)
-
GREENR
- Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources. (more info)
-
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
- Online resource. Articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences. (more info)
-
Political theory : an encyclopedia of contemporary and classic terms
- Online only. Presents the major political concepts, themes, issues, movements, groups, and schools that have developed over time and shaped our modern world, along with biographical entries and articles on the principal works of political theorists from Plato to John Rawls. (more info)
-
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
-
More than 2000 articles from over 1300 leading international experts across the discipline.
(more info)
-
Environmental studies journals
-
Annals of the Association of American Geographers
- The Annals is the preeminent journal for the interdisciplinary field of geography. They publish articles in four major areas: Environmental Sciences; Methods, Models, and Geographic Information Science; Nature and Society; and People, Place, and Region and use a diverse array of scholarly methods. (more info)
-
Annual Review of Environment and Resources
- Provides authoritative reviews of significant topics within environmental science and engineering, including ecology and conservation science, water and energy resources, atmosphere, oceans, climate change, agriculture and living resources, and human dimensions of resource use and global change.
(more info)
-
Ecological Economics
- The journal is concerned with extending and integrating the study and management of nature's household (ecology) and humankind's household(economics). This integration is necessary because conceptual and professional isolation have led to economic and environmental policies which are mutually destructive rather than reinforcing in the long term. The journal is transdisciplinary in spirit and methodologically open. (more info)
-
Ecology and Society
- Content of the journal ranges from the applied to the theoretical. In general, papers should cover topics relating to the ecological, political, and social foundations for sustainable social-ecological systems. (more info)
-
Environment and Urbanization
- This twice-yearly journal focuses on urban and environmental issues and their interconnections, with a particular emphasis on Africa, Asia and Latin America (where most of world's urban population now lives). Founded in 1989 by the International Institute for Environment and Development. (more info)
-
Environmental History
- Environmental History is the world's leading scholarly journal in environmental history and the journal of record in the field. The journal brings together scholars and practitioners from the humanities, sciences, and social sciences to explore the changing relationships between humans and the environment over time.
(more info)
-
Environment and [or &] Planning A
- An interdisciplinary journal of urban and regional research concerned with the fate of cities and regions. Relies on many disciplines: geography, economics, environmental science, political science, demography, engineering, and regional science and many different strategies of work: quantitative and qualitative, economic and cultural, theoretical and applied. (more info)
-
Global Environmental Change
- An international, interdisciplinary journal spanning the social and natural sciences. It publishes high-quality original theoretical and applied research and review articles across the entire field of global environmental change. The journal interprets global environmental change to mean the outcome of processes that are manifest in localities, but with consequences at multiple spatial, temporal and socio-political scales. (more info)
-
Global Environmental Politics
- Examines the relationship between global political forces and environmental change, with particular attention given to implications of local-global interactions for environmental management as well as implications of environmental change for world politics. (more info)
-
Human Ecology
- Provides a forum for papers concerned with the complex and varied systems of interaction between people and their environment. (more info)
-
Journal of Environmental Economics and Management
- The Journal of Environmental Economics and Management publishes theoretical and empirical papers devoted to specific natural resource and environmental issues. (more info)
-
Journal of Environmental Studies and Sciences (JESS)
- The Journal provides a peer-reviewed, academically rigorous and professionally recognized forum for the publication of explicitly interdisciplinary environmental research, policy analysis and advocacy, educational discourse and other related matters.
(more info)
-
Land Use Policy
- Land Use Policy is an international and interdisciplinary journal concerned with the social, economic, political, legal, physical and planning aspects of urban and rural land use. (more info)
-
Landscape and Urban Planning
- Concerned with conceptual, scientific, and design approaches to land use. It emphasizes ecological understanding and a multi-disciplinary approach to analysis, planning and design. The journal attempts to draw attention to the interrelated nature of problems posed by nature and human use of land. (more info)
-
Marine Policy
- The leading journal of ocean policy studies. It offers researchers, analysts and policy makers a unique combination of analyses in the principal social science disciplines relevant to the formulation of marine policy. (more info)
-
Review of Environmental Economics and Policy
- Aims to fill the gap between traditional academic journals and the general interest press by providing a widely accessible yet scholarly source for the latest thinking on environmental economics and related policy. (more info)
-
Tourism Management
- The leading international journal for all those concerned with the planning and management of travel and tourism. Tourism comprises a multitude of activities which together form one of the world's fastest growing international sectors. The journal takes an interdisciplinary approach and includes planning and policy aspects of international, national and regional tourism as well as specific management studies. (more info)
-
Geospatial data
-
LCENVS GIS
- Links to metadata for GIS layers stored on the Lewis & Clark College GIS server, primarily used by the Environmental Studies Program. (more info)
-
Oregon Explorer
- A web-based natural resources digital library for Oregon created by integrating data from state and federal agencies, local governments, university scientists, and citizens. (more info)
-
StreamStats
- StreamStats is a Web-based Geographic Information System (GIS) that provides users with access to an assortment of analytical tools that are useful for water-resources planning and managemen (more info)
-
Portland CivicApps Datasets
- Demographic, socioeconomic, and transportation data about the Portland, OR metro area. (more info)
-
Oregon Geospatial Enterprise Office - Geospatial Data Library
- A variety of datasets pertaining to Oregon land ownership, municipal boundaries, ecological issues, and more. (more info)
-
National Atlas
- Site that offers raw data from the National Atlas; data pertains to environment, boundaries, transportation, and more. (more info)
-
National Map
- U.S. Geological Survey mapping products including current and historical topographic maps. (more info)
-
Geo.Data.Gov
- Access to a variety of U.S. geographical data sources covering topics such as weather, soil, environmental contamination and more. (more info)
-
GeoData@Tufts
- An extensive geospatial data repository accessible by map or search. (more info)
-
International Data Resources from UO Map Library
- International maps and data by region and country courtesy of UO Map Library. (more info)