Research Guide: Psychology

Psychology Databases

PsycINFO
Database of scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. PsycINFO covers journals, books, reviews, and dissertations. (more info)
PsycARTICLES
A full-text database of journals published by APA and other publishers in subject areas such as applied psychology, health, theory, research, social/personality, and more. (more info)
PsycCRITIQUES
A full-text database of book and film reviews from the American Psychological Association. (more info)
Psychology Collection
Indexes nearly 500 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals - many cited in the PsycINFO index. (more info)

Psychology-related Databases

ACM: Association for Computing Machinery
The full text of every article published by ACM! (more info)
ERIC (EBSCOHost)
Provides access to education journals and related documents. (more info)
MEDLINE via Ebsco
Covers all areas of medicine including dentistry and nursing (1965-present). (more info)
MEDLINE on Web of Science
Covers all areas of medicine including dentistry and nursing (1965-present). (more info)
Mental Measurements Yearbook
Fulltext information about and reviews of English-language standardized tests. (more info)
Social Sciences Citation Index
A part of the Web of Science database, the SSCI tracks 'who's citing whom' in the social sciences. (more info)
SocINDEX with full text
Sociology and anthropology research database with over 1 million records from 2000+ journals. (more info)
Sociological Abstracts
One of the most important guides to the literature of sociology and related disciplines, including anthropology. Indexes journal articles, books, conference papers, book reviews, and scholarly web sites. (more info)

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic OneFile
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. (more info)
Academic Search Premier
Indexes and abstracts more than 8,300 journals; almost 4,700 of these titles are in full text. (more info)
Google Scholar
Google's academic search engine now has links to the full text that Watzek Library provides. (more info)

Annual Reviews

Annual Review of Psychology
Describes and evaluates recent noteworthy publications in the field. Chapters are written by specialists on topics of current interest and varying scope. Includes bibliographies. Online from 1950.

Encyclopedias

Comprehensive Clinical Psychology
Consists of 10 subject volumes, each on a broad area of clinical psychology, and an index volume.
Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science
A standard reference source in 4 volumes. Includes both subjects and significant contributors to the field of psychology. Contain 1,200 entries, written by over 700 experts. Each article includes a bibliography.
Encyclopedia of Creativity
A survey of the field, covering a broad range of topics for a broad audience.
Encyclopedia of the Human Brain
Authoritative and comprehensive essays written by neuroscientists. Includes illustrations, tables, appendices and references.
Encyclopedia of Human Emotions
Contains articles on specific emotion, emotions across the life span, and emotions in th society and the human experience. Biographical material on contributors to the field.
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Psychology
A reader's guide at the beginning of this resource organizes topics into broader categories, such as cultural concerns, ethnic groups, indigenous concerns, measurement, sociological issues, and treatment. Some entries have extensive bibliographies; cross-references are plentiful.
Encyclopedia of Psychiatry, Psychology, and Psychoanalysis
A single-volume, revised and updated synthesis of the 12-volume International Encyclopedia of Psychitary, Psychology, and Psychoanalysis, originally published in 1977.
Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment
Each article includes a general conceptual and methodogical overview, information on relevant assessment tools, and list of references. Intended for the psychology community.
Encyclopedia of Psychology
The APA standard encyclopedia in 8 volumes. 1,500 articles on psychological topics written by experts, including 400 biographies and an extensive bibliography at the end of each article.
Encyclopedia of Psychotherapy
Entries describe various schools or models of treatment and analysis and concepts related to them.
Encyclopedia of School Psychology
An excellent and timely introduction to many educational topics, this work is meant for anyone who works with school-age children. Following the list of entries is a reader's guide, which groups the entries into 34 categories.
Encyclopedia of Social Psychology
An encyclopedia addressing terms related to how normal people think, feel and act. (more info)
Learning & Memory
An overview of topics related to learning and memory, and biographical sketches of major contributors to the field.
Stevens' Handbook of Experimental Psychology
Gives a comprehensive summary of developments in experimental psychology. Four volumes covering sensation & perception, memory & cognitive processing, learning, motivation & social behavior, and research methods.

Psychology Web Sites

Addiction Search
Information about addiction-related research and rehabilitation/treatment programs. Broad categories of information are: addictions, statistics, populations, treatment, articles, facilities, prevention, social issues, organizations, and war on drugs. A good starting point for research on addictive behaviors and conditions.
American Psychological Association
This website is a key resource for information about psychology, both for students and for anyone in the field. Links on the home page include: association information, news, careers, psychology topics, and more. Of special interest are links to resources for students and early career psychologists, both of which include links to the APA Style Helper and education and career information.
AmoebaWeb: Psychology on the Web
Maintained by David Degelman, Professor of Psychology at Vanguard University of Southern California. 27 categories of information on topics in psychology, many of which have subdivisions. General categories of resources for online tests, research scales, APA style and writing, and graduate studies are particularly resource-rich.
Classics in the History of Psychology
Full text of historically significant public domain documents from the scholarly literature of psychology and allied disciplines.
Encyclopedia of Psychology
From the Department of Psychology at Jacksonville State University, this site is intended to facilitate browsing in any area of psychology. The site is searchable. Almost 2000 links are organized into categories such as "People and History," "Paradigms and Theories," and "Environment Behavior Relationships."
International Personality Item Pool
Intended to provide rapid access to measures of individual differences, all available in the public domain. A unique resource that is easy to navigate. Includes more than 325 scales placed into 200 or so content categories. Up front information on reliability and validity.
Intute > Social Sciences > Psychology
Intute is a metasite created by a consortium of seven universities in the UK that provides access to web resources for education and research. Subject specialists choose and annotate the links to each resource. Sub-topics under psychology include: consumer, developmental, educational, human experimental, personality, social, and sports psychology, as well as sections on mental health, psychological disorders, and social processes and issues.
Medline Plus Health Information
A metasite from the U.S National Library of Medicine with information on health topics, medical terms, drugs, directories of medical personnel and hospitals, links to health organizations, as well as access to Medline, the primary database for medical information.
National Institute of Mental Health
A division of the National Institutes of Health, NIMH sets priorities and awards funding for biomedical research on the mind, the brain, and behavior. Research and funding information is extensive. The "Health Information" tab includes information on mental health topics, clinical trials, and links to additional resources, such as MEDLINEPlus and the National Registry of Evidence-Based Programs and Practices.
The Personality Project
From the Graduate Program in Personality in the Department of Psychology at Northwestern University. This site is meant to guide those interested in personality theory and research to current literature. Links for recommended readings, academic and non-academic web pages, psychological organizations, and special advice for students.
Psych Central
A comprehensive compilation of Web resources by mental health professionals on topics related to psychology, psychiatry, and social work.
PsychScholar
Online psychology resources for the beginning student and the psychology scholar or professional.
Psych Web
Links to a directory of psychology departments, psychology journals on the Web, pamphlets on psychology, and much more.
Social Psychology Network
An excellent listing of psychology & social psychology resources on the Web from Wesleyan University.

Career & Study Resources

Careers in Psychology
Shows what diverse career opportunities exist in the field of psychology
Getting In: A Step-by-Step Plan for Gaining Admission to Graduate School in Psychology
A concise guide that covers the choices and self-assessments necessary for a candidate to make even before choosing programs and completing applications (as well as those topics, too); also includes information about what to do after you've applied and a planning timetable.
Graduate Study in Psychology
Annual directory of graduate psychology programs in the U.S. and Canada.
Internships in Psychology
"The APAGS workbook for writing successful applications and finding the right match"
Portable Mentor
"Expert guide to a successful career in psychology"
Psychology 101 1/2
"The unspoken rules for success in academia"
Succeeding in Graduate School
"The career guide for psychology"

Return to Research Guides and Databases by Subject

This page maintained by Joanna Haney haney@lclark.edu. Updated September 15th, 2009.