Research Guide: Encyclopedias

General Online Encyclopedias

Britannica Online
Online edition of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. Includes a dictionary and thesaurus. (more info)
Oxford Reference Online
Electronic version of Oxford reference books across a broad range of subjects. (more info)
Wikipedia
A free-content encyclopedia in many languages that anyone can edit.

Specialized Online Encyclopedias

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology
New 2007 edition now available full-text online! Comprehensive encyclopedia with with over 1800 entries, this is the most up-to-date reference work on sociology. This new edition of the valuable reference source contains specially commissioned entries written and edited by an international team of the world's best scholars and teachers. Articles are signed and include references.
Encyclopaedia Judaica
more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists. (more info)
Encyclopaedia of Islam
Reference source on the Islamic world, the religion, the believers and the countries in which they live. (more info)
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
Addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation. Topics include changing conceptions of "the feminine," the family and masculinity, religion, morality, cultural images, medical practice, public health, economy and society and many more.
Encyclopédie ou Dictionnaire raisonné des sciences, des arts et des métier
Published under the direction of Diderot, with 17 volumes of text and 11 volumes of plates between 1751 and 1772. (more info)
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
Encompassing over four thousand years of artistry and innovation, this resource spans every art form, medium and civilization from Cycladic, Minoan, Helladic, and Etruscan art to the fall of the Roman Empire. (more info)
Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts
Over 3,000 entries covering thousands of years of decorative arts production throughout western and non-western cultures. (more info)
International Encyclopedia of Communication
With more than 1,300 A-Z entries, divided into 29 editorial areas representing major fields of inquiry, the encyclopedia spans the breadth of communication studies, including coverage of theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical areas. Editorial areas include communication theory and philosophy, interpersonal communication, journalism, intercultural and intergroup communication, media effects, strategic communication/PR, communication and media law and policy, media systems in the world, and communication and technology.
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences
Covers scholarship and fields that have emerged and matured since the publication of the original international edition. Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.
Merck Index on CD-ROM
An encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs and biologicals. (more info)
Oxford Music Online
The comprehensive music encyclopedia. Helps locate scores in large sets. (more info)
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
The definitive and most thorough work in the field of philosophy. (more info)

Return to Research Guides and Databases by Subject

This page maintained by Dan Kelley dkelley@lclark.edu. Updated December 18th, 2008.