Research Guide: Health & Medicine

Health & Medicine Databases

Health Source: Consumer Edition
Full text of hundreds of health periodicals, pamphlets, and selected health reference books. (more info)
MEDLINE on FirstSearch
Covers all areas of medicine including dentistry and nursing (more info)
MEDLINE on Web of Science
Covers all areas of medicine including dentistry and nursing (1965-present). (more info)
PubMed
This public (and free) version of MEDLINE indexes medical and biomedical journals. (more info)
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Full text of scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. (more info)

Health & Medicine-Related Databases

BIOSIS Previews
A comprehensive index to life sciences and biomedical research worldwide, including journals, meetings, patents, and books. (more info)
MEDLINE on Web of Science
Covers all areas of medicine including dentistry and nursing (1965-present). (more info)
Science Citation Index
A part of the Web of Science, the SCI searches the references (citations) found in journal articles in the sciences. (more info)

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier
Indexes and abstracts more than 8,300 journals; almost 4,700 of these titles are in full text. (more info)

Annual Reviews

Physiology
Describes and evaluates recent noteworthy publications in the field. Chapters are written by specialists on topics of current interest and varying scope. Includes bibliographies. Online from 1939.

Health Web Sites

HealthFinder
A searchable database and browsable directory of reliable online health publications, clearinghouses, and agencies; provided by the US government's Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion.
HealthWeb
Links to quality health information resources on the World Wide Web selected by information professionals at academic medical centers.
MayoClinic.com
Reliable information and advice on health, fitness, and nutrition.
NOAH: New York Online Access to Health
Authoritative information about a broad variety of health topics. Information is provided by hospitals, medical centers, and other health care professionals.
Nutrition.gov
A guide to nutrition and food information on federal government Web sites.

Medical Web Sites

Medline Plus Health Information
A metasite from the U.S National Library of Medicine with information on health topics, medical terms, drugs, directories of medical personnel and hospitals, links to health organizations, as well as access to Medline, the primary database for medical information.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Information on the agency and its work, data and statistics on diseases, health topics and medical news and announcements.
Land of Medical Links
Contains over 6,000 links on medical or health topics.
MedTerms.com
Lengthy definitions of medical terms for consumers.
On-line Medical Dictionary
Search by keywords or browse alphabetically or by subject. Over 45,000 entries.
Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
Reliable clinical information for medical professionals.

Fitness Web Sites

Fitness Jumpsite
An aid for the fitness buff. Join the fitness forum, find a fitness partner, fitness equipment, or use the activity calorie calculator.
Human Kinetics
Kinetics news, information on jobs and careers, and links to associations, programs, and other sites related to exercise, fitness, and physical activity.
Reference Desk Help

Hours: Mon-Fri 9am-5pm, Sun 1pm-5pm

Phone: (503)768-7285

Email: refdesk@lclark.edu

Chat with Reference Desk

Return to Research Guides and Databases by Subject

This page maintained by Jeremy McWilliams jeremym@lclark.edu. Updated January 13th, 2009.