Research Guide: News
-
News & Current Events Databases
-
African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
- Full text for approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. (more info)
-
CQ Global Researcher
- In-depth coverage of global affairs from a number of international viewpoints. (more info)
-
CQ Researcher
- Full text of CQ Researcher reports on major U.S. social, economic and political issues. (more info)
-
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1947 to 1996
- Created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit policy makers and analysts, FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events translated into English. (more info)
-
Google News Archive Search
- Searches back issues of selected newspapers and magazines (more info)
-
InfoTrac Newsstand
- Access to more than 1,000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers, and leading titles from around the world. (Does not include The Oregonian). (more info)
-
Left Index
- Leads to articles in left-leaning periodicals about politics, economics, and society. (more info)
-
LexisNexis Academic
- Full text of national, regional, and international newspapers, business, and legal sources and more. (more info)
-
Newspaper Source
- Selected full text for 300 U.S. and international newspapers. (more info)
-
New York Times - Historical
- Provides access to full text articles, photos, and advertisements in the New York Times from 1851 through 2009. (more info)
-
Oregon Index
- Indexes several Oregon newspapers. (more info)
-
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
- Index of articles in 350 popular, general-interest magazines published in the U.S. and Canada. (1983-present) (more info)
-
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
- "The world's most extensive and complete archive of television news"..."recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968." (more info)
-
World News Connection
- Compiled from thousands of non-U.S. media sources, the information in WNC covers significant socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. (more info)
-
Individual news publications
-
Boston Globe
-
BBC (British Broadcasting Co.)
-
Christian Science Monitor
-
CNN Interactive
-
Columbian (Vancouver, WA)
-
Chronicle of Higher Education
- Provides news reports and editorials on all facets of higher education in the United States, Canada, and abroad, with reference lists of relevant research, books, seminars, workshops, fellowships, and grants; for senior administrative, business, and academic officers.
-
ESPN
-
Financial Times
-
Los Angeles Times
-
NPR - National Public Radio
-
New York Times
- Use the authentication page for the login and password to access articles from 2010-present via nytimes.com. (more info)
-
OPB Newsroom (Oregon Public Broadcasting)
-
Oregonian.com
-
Oregonian Historical Archive (a Public Library database)
- Full text archive to the Oregonian, dating from Feb. 4, 1861 to Dec. 31, 1987. (more info)
-
Pioneer Log archives
-
PBS
-
Portland Business Journal
-
Salon
-
San Francisco Chronicle
-
San Jose Mercury News
-
Seattle Times
-
Statesman Journal (Salem, OR)
-
USA Today
-
Wall Street Journal
- Provides full-text articles for the Wall Street Journal from Jan. 2, 1984 through current issue. (more info)
-
Washington Post
-
Willamette Week
-
Guides to online publications
-
Online newspapers from around the world.
- Searchable newspapers directory, with links organized by continent/country or in a title index.
-
NewsDirectory.com
- Directory of English-language media, with more than 14,000 links to newspapers, magazines, television stations, colleges, visitor bureaus, governmental agencies and more.
-
NewsVoyager
- The Newspaper Assn. of America provides links to U.S. daily and weekly newspapers, Canadian and international dailies, newspaper groups, associations and other media organizations.
-
Media-Link
- Kidon Media-Link is an independent non-profit site on the internet. The newspapers and other news sources on Media-Link are listed by continents; there are also eight pages organized by language.
-
NewPages
- An online guide focusing on non-corporate sources of news.
-
NewsLink
- 9,000 links to newspapers, magazines, broadcasters and news services worldwide.
-
Television News Archive
- Begun in 1968, this archive of television news holds "more than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline..."
-
U. S. News Archives on the Web
- From the News Division of the Special Libraries Association. (*Watzek Library provides alternative (i.e. free) means of obtaining past articles - ask a librarian for assistance).
-
Consumer Reviews
-
Consumer Search
- This site offers invaluable, unbiased consumer product information. ConsumerSearch.com strives to provide "the latest and best competitive analysis of products" for free. The site divides goods into basic, logical categories, and for each product, offers three distinct and related services. Fast Answers is an at-a-glance compilation of reviews (gleaned from other sources) of each specific product; it also rates the best products according to the reviews. For an in-depth analysis of both the product and the experts that reviewed the products, readers will want to peruse the Full Story section. Also, includes citations to reviews in repected print magazines like consumer reports. All the Reviews Reviewed consists of the ConsumerSearch.com's editors's descriptions, ratings, and opinions of each of the review sources.
-
Finding articles in older newspapers
-
African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
- Full text for approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. (more info)
-
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
- Contains both bibliographic records for American newspapers and a substantial collection of digitized newspapers from 23 states, including Oregon. A rich and expanding resource. (more info)
-
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1947 to 1996
- Created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit policy makers and analysts, FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events translated into English. (more info)
-
Historical New York Times
- New York Times-Historical (more info)
-
History and bibliography of American newspapers, 1690-1820
- An historical guide to newspapers, organized by location. (more info)
-
LexisNexis Academic
- Full text of national, regional, and international newspapers, business, and legal sources and more. (more info)
-
Newspaper Index
- Articles are indexed from the Oregonian, 1851-1979, the Oregon Journal, 1902-1979, plus some other local newspapers, periodicals, and miscellaneous monographs. The subjects pertain to Oregon, Portland, and the Northwest
-
Newspaper indexes : a location and subject guide for researchers
- Valuable for location existing newspaper indexes at the local level. (more info)
-
Newspapers in microform. United States
- Also see:Newspapers in microform. Foreign countries (more info)
-
Oregon Newspapers Index
- Index to The Portland Oregonian from Dec. 1850-1987; The Register-Guard, and UofO campus newspaper. (more info)
-
Oregonian Historical Archive (a Public Library database)
- Full text archive to the Oregonian, dating from Feb. 4, 1861 to Dec. 31, 1987. (more info)
-
Oregonian 1987- present (A Public Library Database)
- Access to the Oregonian from 1987-present through the Multnomah County Public Library. (more info)
-
U.S. Newspaper Directory
- This directory of newspapers published in the United States since 1690 can help identify what titles exist for a specific place and time, and how to access them. (more info)