Research Guide: General Databases

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic OneFile
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. (more info)
Academic Search Premier
Indexes and abstracts more than 8,300 journals; almost 4,700 of these titles are in full text. (more info)
Alternative Press Index
Citations from alternative, radical, and left publications. (more info)
Alternative Press Index Archive
An archive of citations from alternative, radical, and left publications. (more info)
AP Images
Offers images of current events, people in the news, historical figures, political leaders, sports greats, and more. (more info)
Article First
Indexes journal articles in sciences and the humanities. (more info)
CQ Global Researcher
In-depth coverage of global affairs from a number of international viewpoints. (more info)
CQ Researcher
Full text of CQ Researcher reports on major U.S. social, economic and political issues. (more info)
Dissertation Abstracts
An index to doctoral dissertations and master's theses from North American and selected European institutions. (more info)
ECO
Electronic Collections Online from FirstSearch includes full text access to scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines. (more info)
General OneFile
Over 6500 full text titles; contains popular, business and professional journals, NPR audio files complete with transcripts, and Fodor's travel guides. (more info)
Google Book Search
Google Book Search searches the text of books scanned and stored by Google. (more info)
Google Scholar
Google's academic search engine now has links to the full text that Watzek Library provides. (more info)
GPO Monthly Catalog
A guide to publications from the Government Printing Office since July 1976. (more info)
Ingenta
Citations to over 31,000 journals in all subject areas, searchable by keyword, title words, or journal name. (more info)
JSTOR
Full text of scholarly journals, from earliest issues up to 3-5 years ago. (more info)
Left Index
Leads to articles in left-leaning periodicals about politics, economics, and society. (more info)
LexisNexis Academic
Full text of national, regional, and international newspapers, business, and legal sources and more. (more info)
MasterFILE Premier
Full text of general interest periodicals and other materials. (more info)
New York Times - Historical
Provides access to full text articles, photos, and advertisements in the New York Times from 1851 through 2003. (more info)
Newspaper Abstracts
Indexes articles from 1989 to the present from Wall Street Journal, USA Today, New York Times, Chicago Tribune, Houston Post, Los Angeles Times, and others (more info)
Newspaper Source
Selected full text for 300 U.S. and international newspapers. (more info)
Oregon Index
Indexes several Oregon newspapers. (more info)
19th Century Masterfile
Locates 19th century articles from selected American and British magazines. Includes Poole's Index. (more info)
Project Muse
Full text articles from scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. (more info)
Readers' Guide Retrospective
Index of more than 3 million articles from 375 popular and general-interest periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada. (1890-1982) (more info)
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
Index of articles in 350 popular, general-interest magazines published in the U.S. and Canada. (1983-present) (more info)
RefWorks
Web-based bibliographic management software. (GROUP CODE) (more info)
RLG Union Catalog (RLIN)
Provides bibliographic descriptions of items held in comprehensive research libraries and special libraries. (more info)
Web of Science
Use Web of Science and other Citation Indexes to discover articles that have cited a specific article or author. (more info)
WorldCat via FirstSearch
WorldCat FirstSearch does not include journal articles but has some search functionality that Lewis & Clark WorldCat lacks. (more info)
Reference Desk Help

Hours: Mon-Fri 9am-5pm, Sun 1pm-5pm

Phone: (503)768-7285

Email: refdesk@lclark.edu

Chat with Reference Desk

Return to Research Guides and Databases by Subject

This page maintained by Reference Desk refdesk@lclark.edu. Updated December 18th, 2008.