Research Guide: Latin American Studies

Latin American Studies Databases

ClasePeriodica
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities. (more info)
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS)
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. (more info)
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
Contains bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, and original literary works in social science and humanities journals. (more info)

Latin American Studies-related Databases

Historical Abstracts
Indexes the scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the U.S. and Canada. (more info)
Sociological Abstracts
One of the most important guides to the literature of sociology and related disciplines, including anthropology. Indexes journal articles, books, conference papers, book reviews, and scholarly web sites. (more info)
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science, international relations, law, and public administration & policy. (more info)

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier
Indexes and abstracts more than 8,300 journals; almost 4,700 of these titles are in full text. (more info)
JSTOR
Full text of scholarly journals, from earliest issues up to 3-5 years ago. (more info)
LexisNexis Academic
Full text of national, regional, and international newspapers, business, and legal sources and more. (more info)
Project Muse
Full text articles from scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. (more info)

Latin American Studies Websites

19th Century Latin America
Part of the Internet Modern History Sourcebook, this is a valuable compilation of primary source Web sites.
Colonial Latin America
Part of the Internet Modern History Sourcebook, this is a valuable compilation of primary source web sites on the colonial period in Latin America.
Dialnet
Dialnet provides access to contemporary scholarly publishing in Spain and Latin America, with tables of contents of over 3,000 humanities, social sciences and science journals. Coverage includes citations for 1.2 million documents, abstracts for many of these, and full text for some 100,000.
LANIC: Latin American Network Information Center
LANIC's editorially reviewed directories contain over 12,000 unique URL's, one of the largest guides for Latin American content on the Internet. LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America.

Return to Research Guides and Databases by Subject

This page maintained by Jim Bunnelle bunnelle@lclark.edu. Updated December 18th, 2008.