L&C L&C + Summit L&C + Summit + Articles, etc.
L&C + Summit + Articles, etc.
Search with this setting to find articles and other content from many electronic journals and databases.
For a more specialized search, refer to Research Guides and Databases by Subject, the A-Z List of Databases, or select the databases tab above and enter the name of a specific database.
Search for items at libraries around the world and submit Interlibrary Loan (ILL) requests.

Research Guide: Public Library Databases

  • Multnomah County Public Library

    How can I access these public library databases?

    Members of the L&C community can use these databases, but will need a Multnomah County Public Library card to do so. Almost all L&C students and faculty are eligible. Get a card.

    America's Newspapers
    The electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers--all in one easy-to-search database. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community. Paid ads are excluded. (more info)
    AP images
    A collection of more than 750,000 photos that have run across the Associated Press wire service from the 1800's. (more info)
    Associations Unlimited
    Directory of thousands of U.S. national associations, international. regional, state, and local associations. (more info)
    Biography Resource Center
    Biographical sources plus full text periodical articles. (more info)
    Book Review Digest Online -a public library database
    Book Review Digest offers excerpts and full-text reviews on a wide range of topics from a variety sources. Review sources include newspapers, popular magazines and academic journals as far back as 1983. Watzek Library has it in print from 1905-1983. (more info)
    HeritageQuest Online
    Research materials for tracing family history and American culture. Includes Census images for 1790-1930. (more info)
    Library Press Display
    PressDisplay.com offers current issues of newspapers in the original form from all over the world. Now you can read digital replicas of newspapers on your tablet (more info)
    Literature Criticism Online
    Contains series such as: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Shakespeare Criticism, Literature Criticism 1400-1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, and Children’s Literature Review (more info)
    Music Index Online
    Indexes articles from more than 670 international music periodicals. (more info)
    Music Online from Alexander St. Press
    Find scores, jazz, classical, and world music recordings and more through this Public Library database (more info)
    Oregonian 1987- present
    This resource contains recent articles from The Oregonian, the major daily newspaper in Portland, Oregon. It includes staff written news features, special interest stories, editorials, daily columns, letters to the editor, visual and performing arts reviews, and sports reports. Some obituaries are included. It does not include classified ads, photos, or advertisements. (more info)
    Oregonian Historical Archive
    Full text and full-image of every page of the Oregonian from 1861 to 1987, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF format. Search for any word that appeared in articles, headlines, public notices or advertisements. Includes articles on national and international affairs, businesses, sports, the arts, technology, Portland local news, Oregon regional news, regular columns, biographical stories, household advice, reports on local clubs and society affairs and more. (more info)
    Sanborn Maps
    Sanborn Maps (more info)
This page maintained by Dan Kelley dkelley@lclark.edu. .