Research Guide: Science

Science Databases

ACM: Association for Computing Machinery
The full text of every article published by ACM! (more info)
Agricola
Describes materials in the National Agriculture Library . (more info)
Agriculture Collection
More than 400 titles, focused on agriculture and its related fields: from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture. (more info)
American Chemical Society Publications
Provides articles published by the American Chemical Society. Years of journals available vary by the title. (more info)
Annual Reviews
Identifies and synthesizes primary research literature in 33 scholarly fields. (more info)
GEOBASE
An index to worldwide literature on geology, geography, and ecology. (more info)
GeoRef
The most comprehensive database of bibliographic information in the geosciences. (more info)
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Full text of scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines. (more info)
MathSciNet
Comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940 (more info)
MEDLINE on FirstSearch
Covers all areas of medicine including dentistry and nursing (more info)
MEDLINE on Web of Science
Covers all areas of medicine including dentistry and nursing (1965-present). (more info)
Science Citation Index
A part of the Web of Science, the SCI searches the references (citations) found in journal articles in the sciences. (more info)
Zoological Record Plus
Provides extensive coverage of the world's zoological and animal science literature, covering all research from biochemistry to veterinary medicine. (more info)

Multi-disciplinary Databases

Academic OneFile
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. (more info)
Academic Search Premier
Indexes and abstracts more than 8,300 journals; almost 4,700 of these titles are in full text. (more info)
MasterFILE Premier
Full text of general interest periodicals and other materials. (more info)

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

Dictionary of Biology
Online edition of Oxford University Press dictionary.
Dictionary of Chemistry
Online version of the Oxford University Press dictionary.
Dictionary of Astronomy
Online version of the Oxford University Press dictionary.
Dictionary of Physics
Online version of the Oxford University Press dictionary.
Encyclopedia of Life
The Encyclopedia of Life is an ecosystem of websites that makes all key information about all life on Earth accessible to anyone, anywhere.

Science Websites

BUBL Link
BUBL (originally BUlletin Board for Libraries) is an Internet-based information service for the U.K. higher-education community and offers information retrieval of academically valuable internet resources.
Librarian's Index to the Internet: Science
The science topics page in the Librarian's Index to the Internet includes links to searchable, annotated web resources, selected and evaluated by librarians. Good starting place for beginning research.
Science.gov: FirstGov for Science
Science.gov is a gateway to authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. Government agencies, including research and development results.
Virtual library: science
"...run by a loose confederation of volunteers, who compile pages of key links for particular areas in which they are expert; even though it isn't the biggest index of the web, the VL pages are widely recognised as being amongst the highest-quality guides to particular sections of the web."
Academic Info: Science Gateway
Scholarly internet resource collections that are very relevant to faculty, students, and research staff at the university level. Sites are grouped into annotated, indexed categories.
Frank Potter's Science Gems
More than 14,000 science resources sorted by category, subcategory, and grade level .
SciTechResources.gov
A catalog of government science and technology websites.
Reference Desk Help

Hours: Mon-Fri 9am-5pm, Sun 1pm-5pm

Phone: (503)768-7285

Email: refdesk@lclark.edu

Chat with Reference Desk

Return to Research Guides and Databases by Subject

This page maintained by Joanna Haney haney@lclark.edu. Updated September 18th, 2009.