Research Guide: Book Reviews

Places to start

Book Review Digest Plus
Over a million book reviews, dating back to 1983, taken from thousands of periodicals (1983-present). (more info)
New York Review of Books
Provides full text reviews in the NYRB from 1963 to the present.
Academic Search Premier
Indexes and abstracts more than 8,300 journals; almost 4,700 of these titles are in full text. (more info)
JSTOR
Full text of scholarly journals, from earliest issues up to 3-5 years ago. (more info)
LexisNexis Academic
Full text of national, regional, and international newspapers, business, and legal sources and more. (more info)
New York Times - Historical
Provides access to full text articles, photos, and advertisements in the New York Times from 1851 through 2003. (more info)
Choice Reviews Online
An important source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. (more info)

Other Sources

Book Review Index
Locates book reviews in general magazines like the New Yorker, the Atlantic Monthly etc. A very useful print resource.
Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Scholarly Journals
This outstanding set contains citations to reviews that appeared in more than 450 scholarly journals. Especially excellent for finding academic reviews of history, political science, and sociology books that were published or reviewed between 1886-1974. Available in print only.
Alternative Press Index
Citations from alternative, radical, and left publications. (more info)
Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities
Provides helpful access to older book reviews published in journals not indexed in the other sources listed here.
H-net Book Reviews
H-Net Reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences is an online scholarly review resource. Each H-Net discussion network has its own review editor. Once posted to individual H-Net networks, reviews are posted to H-Review and archived on this site.
Left Index
Leads to articles in left-leaning periodicals about politics, economics, and society. (more info)
AcqWeb's Directory of Book Reviews on the Web
Provides links to book reviews found on the web. Some are scholarly, some less so.
Arts & Letters Daily
Sponsored by the Chronicle of Higher Education, Arts & Letters Daily's mission is to extract the "precious nuggets of real content" for its readers.
New York Times' Book Reviews
Full text of the NYT Books section's archive of reviews, news, and author interviews from 1981 to the present. Free access with registration.

Art

Art Full Text
This database offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of publications. See also: Art Index Retrospective. (more info)
Art Index Retrospective
Cites articles and reproductions of works of art from periodicals. (more info)

Education

ERIC (EBSCOHost)
Provides access to education journals and related documents. (more info)
Education Review: A Journal of Book Reviews
Publishes reviews of book in education.

History

America: History and Life
Indexes the scholarly literature on the history of the U.S. and Canada. Includes links to full text of the articles also included in JSTOR. (more info)
Historical Abstracts
Indexes the scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the U.S. and Canada. (more info)

Literature

MLA Bibliography
Literature, language, linguistics, folklore. (more info)
Literature Resource Center
Critical analyses, biographies and bibliographies of literary authors. (more info)

Music

Music Index Online
(Public Library Database)

Indexes articles from more than 670 international music periodicals. (more info)

Psychology

Mental Measurements Yearbook
Fulltext information about and reviews of English-language standardized tests. (more info)

Religion

ATLA Religion Index
Contains indexes and full text relating to the study of all religious subjects. Click the info button for printing instructions. (more info)

Sociology

Sociological Abstracts
One of the most important guides to the literature of sociology and related disciplines, including anthropology. Indexes journal articles, books, conference papers, book reviews, and scholarly web sites. (more info)

Return to Research Guides and Databases by Subject

This page maintained by Dan Kelley dkelley@lclark.edu. Updated December 18th, 2008.