Research Guide: Biography

General Online Biographical Sources

Britannica Online
Online edition of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. Includes a dictionary and thesaurus. (more info)
Wikipedia
A free-content encyclopedia in many languages that anyone can edit.
Biography Resource Center
Public Library Database

Biographical sources plus full text periodical articles. (more info)
Biographies Plus Illustrated
Wilson Biographies Plus Illustrated - Find more than 147,000 substantive profiles, plus links to further information (full text articles, abstracts, book review excerpts, and more) from thousands of periodicals. (more info)
Biography & Genealogy Master Index
Index to biographies of persons from ancient times to the present. (more info)

Specialized Online Biographical Sources

American National Biography
Biographical portraits of prominent, dead American men and women. Includes bibliographies. (more info)
HeritageQuest Online
Public Library Database

Research materials for tracing family history and American culture. Includes Census images for 1790-1930. (more info)
Literature Resource Center
Critical analyses, biographies and bibliographies of literary authors. (more info)
Oxford Art Online
Access and search the vast content of Grove Art Online and Oxford art reference in one location. (more info)
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Expanded second edition of the Dictionary of National biography (more info)
Oxford Music Online
The comprehensive music encyclopedia. Helps locate scores in large sets. (more info)

Return to Research Guides and Databases by Subject

This page maintained by Dan Kelley dkelley@lclark.edu. Updated December 18th, 2008.