Research Guide: Government Information

Government Information Databases

LexisNexis Congressional
Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative publications and more. (more info)
GPO Access
A service of the U.S. Government Printing Office, this site provides free electronic access to over 1,000 databases of official Federal information. (more info)
TRACfed
Authoritative information about Federal government enforcement, staffing and spending. (more info)
GPO Monthly Catalog
A guide to publications from the Government Printing Office since July 1976. (more info)
Congressional Observer Publications
Accurate, timely and non-partisan coverage of every vote in the US House and Senate. (more info)
Data for Local Communities (in Oregon)
A gathering place for statistical, spatial, and descriptive information about the cities, counties and other civil, economic and natural regions of Oregon. The LocalData database lets you retrieve web-based information by topic and geography, while Additional Resources provides links to geospatial data and other organizational websites.

Government Information-Related Databases

CQ Global Researcher
In-depth coverage of global affairs from a number of international viewpoints. (more info)
CQ Researcher
Full text of CQ Researcher reports on major U.S. social, economic and political issues. (more info)
PAIS International and PAIS Archive
Indexes articles on a wide range of public policy topics, national and international. (more info)

Government Web Search Engines

Google Uncle Sam
A specialized web search engine rather than a research database or index, Google Uncle Sam limits your web search to sites with a .gov domain.
USA.gov
USA.gov is an easy-to-search, free-access website designed to give you a centralized place to find information from local, state, and U.S. Government Agency websites.

International Organizations

IMF
The International Monetary Fund is a specialized agency of the United Nations system set up by treaty in 1945 to help promote the health of the world economy. Headquartered in Washington, D.C., it is governed by its almost global membership of 184 countries. The IMF is the central institution of the international monetary system—the system of international payments and exchange rates among national currencies that enables business to take place between countries.
NATO
The official home page of the North Atlantic Treaty Organisation. Find current news, general information about the organization, an archive of publications, and more.
Non-Governmental Organizations Research Guide
From Duke University. You can browse the full list, where they provide a link to the organization, subject, continent, country, and IGO affiliation, if any. You can also search by issue or geography. Under "Data," they have a listing of statistical data sources from NGOs.
Northwestern University, International Documents Collection
Access to comprehensive listings of intergovernmental organizations (IGOs) and foreign governments, maintained by the Government and Geographic Information and Data Services Department at Northwestern University.
United Nations
The official website for the UN. This site provides access to UN news and information, online databases, documents and publications, and more. Try the UN library's website or Yale University's UN Scholar's Workstation to learn about the bewildering world of UN Documents. The University of Washington is the closest UN Depository Library .
UNBIS
The primary bibliographic database of the United Nations. It was established in 1979 and offers access to the documentary output of the United Nations and to non-United Nations publications acquired by the Dag Hammarskjöld Library in New York or the Library of the United Nations Office at Geneva. The language of the file is English, although publications may be in a variety of languages.
UN Documentation Research Guide
This guide is designed for researchers and information professionals with an interest in United Nations documentation. It presents an overview of the various types of documents and publications issued by the Organization (e.g, reports, resolutions, meeting records, sales publications, press releases) and gives guidance on how to work with them. The Research Guide also provides information on actions taken by the General Assembly as well as the Security Council and introduces researchers to major fields of UN activities: disarmament, human rights, international law and peacekeeping.
United Nations Scholars' Workstation
This site at Yale University is a collection of texts, finding aids, data sets, maps, and other resources. It supports teaching and research of the United Nations.
World Bank
The website of the World Bank. This page provides news on regions and countries, development topics, projects, the full-text of publications, and more.

State Government

Oregon.gov
The official home page for the state of Oregon, this site provides sources of information about state and local government, national, international and tribal government, and state laws and regulations. It also includes content areas about living, visiting and working in Oregon, business, education, and facts about the state.
Oregon Blue Book
The official state directory and manual of county, city, federal and tribal governments.
Oregon Secretary of State Elections Division
Includes statewide information on candidates and political parties, initiative petitions and ballot measures, elections officials, voter registration and participation, daily tallies of ballot returns, online voter's guides and more.
Oregon Tax Information
Oregon Department of Revenue website. Links for publications and forms, as well as tax information for students.

Federal Government

IRS Internal Revenue Service
The Internal Revenue Service is the nation's tax collection agency and administers the Internal Revenue Code enacted by Congress. This site gives easy access to tax forms and information.
U.S. Budget
Budget of the United States Government. Available from 1997 to the current budget.
U.S. Senate
Provides information about Senate membership, committees, current Senate news, and much more.

Return to Research Guides and Databases by Subject

This page maintained by Dan Kelley dkelley@lclark.edu. Updated December 18th, 2008.