Research Guide: Maps & Atlases

Driving Maps

Google Maps
Maps from Google. Includes a feature that provides directions.
MapQuest
Gives you mileage, door to- oor or city to city, and street maps with driving directions.
Rand McNally
Directions, maps etc.
Rand McNally Road Atlas
Print atlas of the United States, Mexico, and Canada.
Street Atlas USA
This software from Delorme is only available in the Watzek Library. You'll have to check out the CD to use it.

Online Maps

Bodleian Library Map Room
From Oxford University.
Geography from About
Nice source of online geographic material from About.com.
National Geographic Map Machine
Includes maps of individual countries as well as thematic maps. Also has printer-friendly maps.
Odden's Bookmarks
This is one of the most popular and successful map and cartographic sites available. Oddens's Bookmarks is excellent in both its coverage and its organization into categories.
Perry-Castaņeda Library
A guide to online maps from the University of Texas.
World Maps Collection
A gateway to frequently requested maps from the World Press Review.

Local Maps

Campus Maps
Includes a map with directions on how to get to campus.
portlandmaps.com
PortlandMaps was developed to give public access to GIS data integrated with other information from all city bureaus. Using this application, citizens can query, analyze, and review data on city properties, including crime levels, assessment and tax history, permits, proximity to parks & schools, and basic census information.
TriMet Maps & Schedules
Includes the bus schedules.
Portland Bike Maps
Citywide and neighborhood bike maps provided by the City of Portland's Office of Transportation.
Sanborn Maps
Public Library Database

Historical street and lot maps of Oregon, Washington, and California. (more info)

Country Maps

Maps from the CIA
Part of the CIA World Factbook. Provides basic maps of all the continents; world political and physical maps; and a world time zone map.
National Geographic Travel & Cultures Directory
The National Geographic Society currently recognizes 194 independent nations. All of these, plus disputed areas, territories, U.S. states, and Canadian provinces, are profiled here. In each entry you'll find key geographic, demographic, and economic data as well as a brief overview.
Xpeditions Atlas
Black and white maps of continents and individual countries formatted for printing.

Historical Online Maps

David Rumsey Collection
The David Rumsey Historical Map Collection contains over 20,000 maps online and focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North and South America cartographic history materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented. The collection categories include old and antique atlas, globe, school geography, maritime chart, state, county, city, pocket, wall, children and manuscript maps. Genealogy and family history can be studied on the maps. The online collection is an expanding cross section of digital images designed to highlight the depth of the collection. For more information, see this article about the collection.
Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names Online
The TGN is a structured vocabulary containing more than one million names and other information about places. The TGN includes all continents and nations of the modern political world, as well as historical places. It includes physical features and administrative entities, such as cities and nations. The emphasis in TGN is on places that are important for art and architecture.
Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library
A strong collection of historical maps, including early maps of Colonial and Revolutionary America, maps depicting Union and Expansion, the American Civil War, and the emerging transportation infrastructure. Contains many maps of Georgia and the American South.
Map Collections, 1500 to the present
An extensive collection of thematic maps from the American Memory Collection at the Library of Congress. Categories include cities & towns, environmental, discovery & exploration, immigration & settlement, military & battle, communication, and general maps.
Maps of Africa
Digitized antique maps of Africa and accompanying text; time span is from mid-16th century to the early 20th century. From the Melville J. Herskovits Library of African Studies (or the Africana Library) at Northwestern University. Search the collection or browse by title, cartographer, date, country or African region, or place of publication.
Digital General Land Office Maps - Oregon
Also known as Donation Land Claim maps, these maps show the original settlement and ownership patterns in Oregon. (more info)

Selected Print Atlases

Atlas of Oregon
Beautiful atlas with a wealth of information about Oregon, including human geography, the economy, physical geography, and reference maps.
Atlas of World History
From Oxford University Press.
DK World Atlas Millenium Ed
Beautiful atlas with remote-sensing images.
Historical Atlas of the Pacific Northwest
A book with maps of exploration and discovery: British Columbia, Washington, Oregon, Alaska, Yukon.
National Geographic Historical Atlas of the United States
A sweet historical atlas by the National Geographic Society.
Oxford Atlas of the World
A fine general atlas with decent physical and political maps.

Topographic Maps

USGS Map locator
download USGS maps in pdf format. (more info)
Oregon atlas & gazetteer
A book with topographic maps of Oregon. There is an older edition you can check out of the library. Watzek Library also has the loose topographic maps and a DVD version.
Topoquads by DeLorme
Authentic USGS 7.5-minute quadrangle maps, plus DeLorme's updated topographic and street-level data. The USGS maps have been scanned directly by the USGS and are powered by the feature-rich DeLorme software engine. Access these USGS raster maps in 17 smooth-scrolling viewing levels in addition to 80 levels of updated DeLorme vector data.
Washington atlas & gazetteer
A book with Washington topomaps. Watzek Library also has many of the loose maps.

Return to Research Guides and Databases by Subject

This page maintained by Dan Kelley dkelley@lclark.edu. Updated December 18th, 2008.