Research Guide: Images & Photographs

Image Databases

AP Images
Offers images of current events, people in the news, historical figures, political leaders, sports greats, and more. (more info)
ARTstor
The ARTstor Library includes approximately 800,000 images covering art, architecture, archeology, and culture. (more info)

Image Search Engines

Alta Vista Image Search
Choose between color/B&W;, filtered/unfiltered, photos/artwork, etc
morguefile.com
free high-resolution stock photos with no strings attached
Bigfoto
Copyright-free images.
Imageafter
More free stock photography with little or no restrictions.
Image and Sound Databases
Use UC Berkeley list of image and sound databases to find photographs, paintings, films and other materials in audio or visual format.

Special Collections of Images

Amazing Picture Machine
Designed by the North Central Regional Technology in Education Consortium with teachers in mind. Excellent collection and searchable.
American Memory
The Library of Congress has digitized millions of historical images
Art Images for College Teaching
AICT is a free-use image resource for the educational community.
Imagebase
A collection of digital images from Virginia Tech University.
New York Public Library Picture Collection
A collection of 30,000 digitized images from books, magazines and newspapers as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, mostly created before 1923. It consists of images of New York City, Costume, Design, American History and other subjects.
Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
50% of the Library of Congress's prints and photographs collection, this resource contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and other units of the Library.
Smithsonian Image Collection
Selected images from the Collections of the Office of Imaging and Photographic Services. Includes images from current exhibits and historical collections.

Return to Research Guides and Databases by Subject

This page maintained by Dan Kelley dkelley@lclark.edu. Updated December 18th, 2008.