Research Guide: Core 107 - Roberts - spring 2012
-
General Research Databases
-
L&C WorldCat
- Discovery tool that allows users to find materials at L&C, in Summit, and in libraries around the world. Also includes some journal articles from specific databases like MEDLINE (medicine and health), ERIC (education), GPO (U.S. government publications), ArticleFirst and British Library Serials. (more info)
-
JSTOR
- Use the advanced search function to search within the folklore discipline. (more info)
-
Academic Search Complete
- Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive, scholarly, and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. (more info)
-
Google Scholar
- Google's academic search engine now has links to the full text that Watzek Library provides. (more info)
-
LexisNexis Academic
- Full text of national, regional, and international newspapers, business, and legal sources and more. (more info)
-
Project Muse
- A unique collaboration between libraries and the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, providing 100% full-text, online access to over 400 titles from prestigious humanities and social sciences journals and nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers. Browse by discipline and select folklore under social sciences (more info)
-
Subject-specific Research Databases
-
Historical Abstracts
- Indexes the scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Includes article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present. See "America: History and Life" for U.S. and Canadian history. (more info)
-
U.S. History in Context
- Unlike other sources that only offer periodical or bibliographic information, this broad collection includes full-text periodicals, reference works, primary documents and scholarly analysis. (more info)
-
SocINDEX with full text
- Sociology and anthropology research database with over 2000 journals. (more info)
-
Sociological Abstracts
- One of the most important indexes to the literature of sociology, cultural anthropology and related disciplines. Indexes 1800+ journals and other literature. (more info)
-
Communication and Mass Media Complete
- Offers full text for almost 300 titles and contains citation coverage for 300 additional sources. (more info)
-
James J. Kopp First-year Research Awards
-
The library gives out awards?
- Yes, two first-year students will win cash prizes for excellence in library research demonstrated in the E&D spring paper or project! (more info)