Research Guide: Historical Government Documents
-
Major Databases and Indexes to US gov't documents
-
FDsys (previously GPO Access)
- A service of the U.S. Government Printing Office, this site provides free electronic access to over 1,000 databases of official Federal information. (more info)
-
GPO Monthly Catalog
- A guide to publications from the Government Printing Office since July 1976. (more info)
-
Monthly catalog of United States government publications
- Print indexes cover 1941 to 1976. (more info)
-
A descriptive catalogue of the Government publications of the United States, September 5, 1774-March 4, 1881
- Provides indexes to go'vt publications before the Monthly Catalog. (more info)
-
NTIS (National Technical Information Service)
- Containing over 2.0 million bibliographic records, the NTIS Database is the preeminent resource for accessing the latest research sponsored by the United States and select foreign governments. (more info)
-
U. S. Congressional Serial Set 1817-1980
- Search or browse the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes for the period 1817-1980. (more info)
-
Proquest Congressional
- Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative publications and more. (more info)
-
HeinOnline
- Exact page images of law journals, Congressional Record, U.S. Reports, Federal Register, and treaty & international agreements etc. (more info)
-
Examples of subject specific gov't databases
-
Agricola
- Describes materials in the National Agriculture Library . (more info)
-
ERIC
- Provides access to education journals and related documents. (more info)