Locates 19th century articles from selected American and British magazines. Includes Poole's Index.
The 19th Century Masterfile indexes articles from selected American and British magazines written prior to 1925. It covers history, literature, religion, law and current events from that time period, but it does not provide subject headings or abstracts. It is the 19th century equivalent of the The Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. Watzek Library owns the print version of Poole's Index, but the 19th Century Masterfile also includes online versions of the following print indexes:Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, 1802-1907 Index to Periodical Literature, Supplements (1882--1907)(Ed. Poole and Fletcher.) Stead's Index to Legal Periodical Literature 1786-1922. (ed. Jones and Chipman) An Alphabetical Subject Index and Index Encyclopedia to Periodical Articles on Religion, 1890-1899. (ed. Ernest Cushing Richardson). The Psychological Index (1894-1905)ALA Index to General Literature (1801-1910)Southern Historical Society Papers (1876-1910)New England Magazine Index (1831-1835)Congressional Record File for the 19th Century
Provides comprehensive abstracting coverage of international anthropological literature. A standard source to consult when searching for scholarly literature in archaeology, cultural anthropology, linguistics and physical anthropology. Access in print from 1995-present or online from 2001-present.
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources.
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects.
A comprehensive, scholarly, and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 12,000 periodicals and 4,700 peer-reviewed journals.
Academic Search Premier is a comprehensive, scholarly, and multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 12,000 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,700 peer-reviewed journals. The database also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Many areas of academic study are covered, including: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Two bibliographic databases covering Africa- one general and one concerning women.
The site consists of two bibliographic databases covering Africana covering Africana periodical literature (Bibliography of Africana Periodical Literature Database) and African Women's literature (African Women's Database). You will also find a comprehensive bibliography on women travelers and explorers to Africa (Women Travelers, Explorers and Missionaries to Africa: 1763-2004: A Comprehensive English Language Bibliography).
Describes materials from 1970 to the present that are housed in the National Agriculture Library.
Describes materials acquired by the National Agriculture Library and cooperating institutions. Includes records of books, serials, audiovisual and other materials, from 1970 to the present. Has no full text. Is updated monthly. Subjects include: Agricultural economy, animal science, chemistry, forestry, natural resources, energy, food science, rural sociology, plant diseases, veterinary medicine, agricultural engineering, entomology, insect control, human nutrition, home economics, coop extensions, geography. Updated monthly from over 5,000 sources.
Full-text articles focusing on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Full-text articles focusing on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
The electronic editions of local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers.
The electronic editions of local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community. Paid ads are excluded.
Facsimile images of 15,000 broadsides printed between 1820-1900, and 15,000 pieces of ephemera printed between 1760-1900.
The subjects of these broadsides range from contemporary accounts of the Civil War, unusual occurrences and natural disasters to official government proclamations, tax bills and town meeting reports. Featuring many rare items, the pieces of ephemera include clipper ship sailing cards, early trade cards, bill heads, theater and music programs, stock certificates, menus and invitations documenting civic, political and private celebrations. American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I consists of more than 29,000 broadsides and pieces of ephemera.
Biographical portraits of prominent, dead American men and women. Includes bibliographies.
ANB Online offers lengthy biographical portraits of more than 17,400 prominent, and dead, American men and women. Includes bibliographies for further research, as well as full text access to The Oxford Companion to United States History. Search by Boolean operators, gender, job classification, and other categories. Updates quarterly.
Reports of the U.S. Congress between 1789 and 1838
The American State Papers are a retrospective collection of reports of the U.S. Congress, along with Executive Department publications, from 1789-1838. About two-thirds of this collection covers the first 14 Congresses (1789-1817); the remaining third overlaps with the coverage of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set (1817-1838).
Identifies and synthesizes primary research literature in 46 scholarly disciplines.
Offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Volumes are published each year for 46 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics.
Searches Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature simultaneously.
Combines two powerful databases, Anthropological Index (AI), produced by UK's Royal Anthropological Institute, and Anthropological Literature (AL) from Harvard. It offers worldwide coverage of core periodicals in social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology; ethnology; archaeology; folklore; material culture; and interdisciplinary studies--spanning the late 19th century to the present. This umbrella database consolidates two of the strongest resources in anthropological research, providing researchers with the broadest coverage available in one database. Only 10 simultaneous users for all Summit libraries, so if you have trouble accessing this, try back another time.
Online access to about thirty American Anthropological Association (AAA) journals.
* A complete electronic archive of all AAA journals. Coverage varies, but many journals are covered from their beginnings to the present. * Seamless access to archival content housed at JSTOR for key AAA publications including American Anthropologist (for AAA members and subscribing institutions) * Current issues for 11 of the AAA's most critical peer-reviewed publications including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, Anthropology and Humanism, Archaeological Publications of the American Anthropological Association, Cultural Anthropology, Ethos, Journal of Linguistic Anthropology, Medical Anthropology Quarterly, NAPA Bulletin and PoLAR: The Political and Legal Anthropology Review.
The premier database for psychology. Single search interface for PsycINFO, PsycARTICLES, PsycCRITIQUES, and PsycTHERAPY streaming video.
PsycINFO is a bibliographic database of scholarly literature from a variety of publishers, covering over 2,500 journals in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences; coverage includes journals, books, book chapters, reviews, and dissertations. PsycARTICLES provides fulltext coverage of journals published by APA, Canadian Psychological Association, Hogrefe Publishing Group, and the Educational Publishing Foundation. PsycCRITIQUES is a "full-text database of book and film reviews" from 1956 to present. PsycTHERAPY is a database of streaming psychotherapy demonstrations featuring some of the most renowned therapists in North America working with participants on a host of therapeutic topics.
ARC is the online catalog of NARA's nationwide holdings in the Washington, DC area, Regional Archives and Presidential Libraries.
With billions of records, ARC describes about half of the holdings in the National Archives. Some additional archival materials -- such as architectural and engineering drawings items, maps and charts, and still pictures -- have been digitized and are available through ARC.
Provides access to descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide.
ArchiveGrid provides online access to nearly a million descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. Includes access to collections held by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, the Art Institute of Chicago, Smithsonian Institution - Archives of American Art, New York Public Library, and many more: listed on their homepage.
Full text, abstracts, and indexing of an international array of publications.
Full-text articles from 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, indexing and abstracting of 600 periodicals dating back to 1984, including 280 peer-reviewed journals, as well as indexing and abstracting of 13,000 art dissertations. Indexing of 200,000 art reproductions provides examples of styles and art movements, including works by emerging artists. The database covers fine, decorative and commercial art, folk art, photography, film, and architecture, and also includes a database-specific thesaurus.
Cites articles and reproductions of works of art from periodicals.
Art Index Retrospective cites articles from more than 420 periodicals. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch. In addition to articles, Art Index Retrospective indexes reproductions of works of art.
Works from major European, American, and Canadian artists in the collections of member museums are included. Cultures and time periods represented range from contemporary art, Native American and Inuit art, to ancient Greek, Roman, and Egyptian works, along with Japanese and Chinese works. The database includes numerous multimedia files. Art Museum Image Gallery documents over 155,000 works of art.
An integrated research tool that allows users to search across Gale's two large primary source collections: Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) and Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO).
Nearly 3,000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing.
At present, ARTFL's main corpus, ARTFL-FRANTEXT, consists of nearly 3,000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing. The eighteenth, nineteenth and twentieth centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of seventeenth century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts. Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy. In most cases standard scholarly editions were used in converting the text into machine-readable form, and the data contain page references to these editions. The FRANTEXT corpus is updated as new high-quality digital texts become available.
A part of the Web of Science database, the AHCI tracks 'who's citing whom' in the arts and humanities. Coverage is 1980-present.
The Arts & Humanities Citation Index allows patrons to discover articles that have cited a past article or author in the fields. This database is useful to find out how a certain article has influenced later research, to verify a citation, or to discover who else has done more recent research on a given topic.
Contains indexes and full text relating to the study of all religious subjects.
The ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is a comprehensive database designed to support religious and theological scholarship in graduate education and faculty research. The database contains citations from international titles and over 16,000 multi-author works in and related to the field of religion. It also includes a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, book reviews, and Doctor of Ministry projects from ATLA's print indexes: Religion Index One (RIO), Religion Index Two (RIT), Biblical Studies and Index to Book Reviews in Religion (IBRR). Though coverage is from 1908 to the present, not all publications begin in 1949. Semiannual Updates.
Covers material published between 1975 and 2007. For material published after 2007 see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA).
BHA is a free database that encompasses two databases, the BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art) and RILA (Répertoire de la litterature de l'art). BHA covers the years 1990-2007; the Getty Web version includes all records with abstracts in French or English and all subject terms in French and English. RILA covers the years 1975–1989.
Life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more.
Life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Content from journals, meetings, patents, and books covering 1969-present.
Easily find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.
Combines all of the content formerly found in Business & Company Resource Center with a new interface designed around the research goals and workflows of your diverse business research community. Easily find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.
Over 2,300 full-text scholarly business journals plus other sources.
Business Source Premier provides full text for more than 2,300 scholarly business journals and many other sources, including full text for nearly 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. Expanded indexing and abstract backfiles are included for the top scholarly business journals, dating back to 1965 or the first issue published (whichever is more recent).
A growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums.
A growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums. CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.
References to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21.
This database includes all of the issues of Child Development Abstracts & Bibliography from 1927 - 2001 previously published by the Society for Research in Child Development plus new coverage on Child Rights and welfare issues. Book reviews and abstracts from hundreds of journals and a bibliography of thousands of technical reports, books, book chapters, theses and dissertations covering biomedical and social sciences worldwide are indexed. More than 342,000 records are included with over 10,000 new records added each year.
CiNii (pronounced "sigh-knee") searches academic papers and articles published in Japan.
CiNii (Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator)enables searching of information on academic papers published in academic society journals or university research bulletins, or included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database. More information is here:http://ci.nii.ac.jp/cinii/en/pages/cinii-db.html
Offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles.
Combining the content of 2 databases: CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University), Communication and Mass Media Complete offers cover-to-cover 'core' indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected 'priority' coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals. Some titles are indexed back as far as 1915.
Full text for more than 300 publications covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software.
This database provides full text for more than 300 publications, covering topics such as computer science, programming, artificial intelligence, cybernetics, information systems, robotics, and software. It offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 450 publications.
Computing Reviews (CR) aims to provide access to current research, theory and applications in all subdisciplines of computing via the review medium. CR compiles expert, unbiased critical reviews of current publications of note in computing. The goals of CR are to provide an overview of developments in computing to both specialists and generalists who wish to survey the field as a whole; isolate and illuminate quality materials; and build and enhance communities of computer scientists and others by promoting the exchange of ideas.
Full text of CQ Researcher reports on major U.S. social, economic and political issues.
Each 12,000 word weekly report provides an in-depth news and analysis of a single contemporary issue: social, political, international. Provides an overview, historical background, a chronology of important events related to the issue, pros and cons from experts, maps/graphs, bibliographies, and lists of organizations that can be contacted for further information.
The DPLA offers a single point of access to millions of items – photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more – from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Users can browse and search the DPLA's collections by timeline, map, format, and topic.
Link to abstracts or citations to dissertations and theses from around the world, from 1861 to the present day. Also includes full text of dissertations and theses produced by graduate students at Lewis & Clark.
Simultaneous, multi-user access to more than 100 scholarly frontlist e-books published by Duke University Press in the humanities and social sciences, as well as a complete selection of hundreds of backlist e-books available in electronic format.
EEBO contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700
From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this collection now contains about 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Libraries possessing this collection find they are able to fulfill the most exhaustive research requirements of scholars in many subject areas, including: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.
Approximately 60,000 ebooks in 16 key subject areas, including Economics, Computers & IT, Education, History, Political Science, Literature, International Relations, Physical Sciences, Psychology, Religion, Philosophy, SOAN and more.
Approximately 60,000 ebooks in 16 key subject areas including Economics, Computers & IT, Education History, Political Science, Literature International Relations, Physical Sciences, Psychology, Religion, Philosophy, SOAN and more
The American Economic Association's electronic bibliography, 1868-present, EconLit, indexes over 120 years of economics literature from around the world including all AEA journals. EconLit is a comprehensive index of journal articles, books, book reviews, collective volume articles, working papers and dissertations.
Education research database with full text beginning in 1996.
Education Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles of at least one column in length from English-language periodicals and yearbooks published in the United States and elsewhere. English-language books relating to education published in 1995 or later are also indexed. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Abstracts range from 50 to 300 words and describe the content and scope of the source documents. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996. Subjects covered include: Adult Education, Arts, Athletics, Comparative Education, Competency-based Education, Computers in Education, Continuing Education, Educational Technology, Elementary Education, Government Funding, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Library Science, Literacy Standards, Multicultural/Ethnic Education, Parent-Teacher Relations, Prayer in Public Schools, Preschool Education, Religious Education, School Administration, Science and Mathematics, Secondary Education, Special Education, Student Counseling, Teacher Education, Teacher Evaluation, Teaching Methods, Vocational Education.
Full text and indexing for journals, books and conference papers in education.
Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,500 journals, as well as full text for more than 750 journals, and includes full text for more than 100 books and monographs, and for numerous education-related conference papers.
ECCO delivers the full-text and page images of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in a wide range of environmental applications.
Environment Complete offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Contains over 40,000 annotated citations to books, articles, and dissertations published from 1633 to the present.
For over 50 years the Forest History Society (FHS) has monitored the world of publishing for items written as history and dealing with the utilization, management, and appreciation of forest-related resources. Originally the information was kept on index cards, then in 1977 was published in North American Forest and Conservation History: A Bibliography by Ronald J. Fahl (Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO Press, 1977). Since the early 1980s FHS has maintained the bibliography in a computer database, which is continually updated and searchable on our web site.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is a product of the U.S. Dept. of Education, and provides access to education journals and related documents.
Ebsco's ERIC can be searched in combination with Education Research Complete and Educational Administration Abstracts. The ERIC Collection, began in 1966, contains records for a variety of publication types, including: journal articles books research syntheses conference papers technical reports dissertations policy papers, and other education-related materials
The collection covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
Provides personalized recommendations of the best research articles in biology and medicine by the world’s largest group of leading scientists and clinicians.
Fast and comprehensive identification and assessment of the best research articles in biology and medicine by the world’s largest group of leading scientists and clinicians. F1000Prime provides researchers with a personalized literature service using a collection of innovative tools and resources.
A service of the U.S. Government Printing Office, this site provides free electronic access to over 1,000 databases of official Federal information.
A service of the U.S. Government Printing Office, this site provides free electronic access to over 1,000 databases of official Federal information. Databases include: Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register, Congressional Record, U.S. Code, etc.
A bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for 300+ publications in the fields of film and television.
Film & Television Literature Index is a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications (and selected coverage of an additional 301). The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers.
FLI annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 1976 to 2001 for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly and critical to the popular.
In 1973, the Film and Television Documentation Center at the State University of New York (SUNY) published the Film Literature Index, the first periodical index devoted to the literature of film designed for the scholar, the student, and the general reader. The index has since expanded coverage to include television and video productions. The Film Literature Index annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly and critical to the popular. The Film Literature Index is known for its comprehensive indexing system that includes more than 2,000 subject headings for detailed analysis of articles and reviews.
Created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit policy makers and analysts, FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events translated into English.
Created by the U.S. intelligence community to benefit policy makers and analysts, FBIS Daily Reports offer foreign views and perspectives on historical events from thousands of monitored broadcasts and publications. Translated into English from more than 50 languages - from Arabic to Swahili - these comprehensive media reports from around the globe include news, interviews, speeches and editorial commentary.
Combines NISC's Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues.
The Gender Studies Database combines NISC's Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the web are available. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several hundred links provide access to carefully selected and important websites.
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics.
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics. Access to a combination of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company directory listings with full text and images available.
The most comprehensive database of bibliographic information in the geosciences.
GeoRef provides access to articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses, covering the geology of North America from 1785 to the present; and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to present. GeoRef through COS includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from U.S. and Canadian universities are also covered.
Multi-disciplinary cross-cultural resource for women's history spanning 4 centuries and 15 languages.
This database is the definitive cross-cultural resource for information on women's history. It spans more than four centuries and 15 languages and includes over two million pages in full image. Users can trace the evolution of feminism within a single country, as well as the impact of that country's feminist movement on other countries and their movements. The Gerritsen Collection also provides immediate access to many primary sources from around the world that were previously available only in a limited number of rare book rooms. Aletta Jacobs was a Dutch physician and feminist who, along with her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting information on women's issues in the late 1800s. Overall, she acquired more than 4,700 publications from the U.S., the U.K., Canada, New Zealand, and continental Europe. This collection was first available on microform. Now the microform had been digitized to provide more than two million page images that accurately reproduce the original printed works online.
Databases contain indexed transcriptions of material from auction catalogs and archival inventories of western European works of art, and contain nearly 1,000,000 records that cover the period from the late 16th century to the early 20th century.
Indexes scholarly and general interest titles, government documents and reports. Focuses on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment.
Indexes scholarly and general interest titles, government documents and reports. Focuses on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Draws on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Includes almost 300,000 records, some full text and searchable cited references for more than 200 titles.
Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources.
According the publisher GREENR is "a new online resource that offers authoritative content on the development of emerging green technologies and discusses issues on the environment, sustainability and more...GREENR allows users to navigate issue, organization and country portals. A one-stop site, this resource provides news, video, primary source documents and more in highly accessible research areas covering relevant categories such as energy systems, healthcare, food and others."
Contains bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, and original literary works in social science and humanities journals.
HAPI is a source for information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. From analyses of current political, economic, and social issues to unique coverage of Latin American arts and letters, HAPI Online contains bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals.
Full text of scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 600 scholarly full text journals, including nearly 450 peer-reviewed journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong. Some full text goes back to 1975.
Exact page images of law journals, Congressional Record, U.S. Reports, Federal Register, and treaty & international agreements etc.
HeinOnline is an internet service launched in 2000 that is a source of legal information, much like Westlaw and LexisNexis. There are three major distinctions between this service and other such services in terms of the scope and type of materials offered. First, HeinOnline provides a narrower scope of materials, excluding newspaper reports, as well as most federal and all state case law and most administrative material. The service delivers only: * Case reports from the United States Supreme Court * Materials from the Federal Register * Published opinions of the United States Attorney General * Treaties and similar international agreements * Law reviews
Research materials for tracing family history and American culture. Includes Census images for 1790-1930.
Combines ProQuest's Genealogy & Local History Online, a collection of over 25,000 family and local histories, and content from HeritageQuest, the largest genealogical data, products, supplies and equipment provider to consumers and institutions in the United States.
On this site you can search and access complete content for historic Oregon newspapers that have been digitized as part of the Oregon Digital Newspaper Program (ODNP). Titles are here http://oregonnews.uoregon.edu/newspapers/.
Indexes the scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Includes article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present. See "America: History and Life" for U.S. and Canadian history.
Indexes the scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the U.S. and Canada. Includes article abstracts and citations of books and dissertations on world history from 1450 to the present. See "America: History and Life" for U.S. and Canadian history.
The HSDL collection includes homeland security strategy, policy and research documents.
The HSDL collection provides quick access to important U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources such as theses and reports from various universities, organizations and local and state agencies. The resources are reviewed and selected by a team of homeland security researchers and organized in a unique homeland security taxonomy.
An international consortium of more than 700 academic institutions and research organizations, ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
The Index records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400 (extended in the case of the Morgan and Princeton Library projects to include manuscript holdings up to the end of the sixteenth century). There is a particular emphasis and focus on art of the western world. Seventeen different media are represented in the archive, and these include manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, glass, and so forth.
The Air University Library's Index to Military Periodicals is a subject index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English language military and aeronautical periodicals. The Index contains citations since 1988 and is updated continuously. A comprehensive list of all journals covered by AULIMP since 1949 is available as the Historical Index of AULIMP titles.
Citations to over 31,000 journals in all subject areas, searchable by keyword, title words, or journal name.
Ingenta contains citations to articles from over 21 million articles in 31,000 publications. Searchable by keyword, title words, or journal name. Browse journal titles to see contents of particular issues. Provides access to full text of articles for a fee. L&C students and staff may have access to full text through the Library's Journal Title Index or may use the Library's Interlibrary loan service.
The International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is the definitive resource for scholarly literature on western art, and is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA).
The International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is the definitive resource for scholarly literature on western art, and is published exclusively by ProQuest. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), and includes the most recent index records that were created by the Getty Research Institute as part of BHA. These records were created in 2008-2009, and cover scholarship up to 2009, including retrospective records for material published in previous years. ProQuest will be building on this by adding 25,000 new records per year going forwards, ensuring unbroken coverage of indexed journals.
A citation database for journal articles and books pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for reviews of books, review articles, collections of essays, and many other types of resources are included. Updated daily. ITER also provides access to other databases, such as the Early Theatre database and the Medici Archive Project.
Use the advanced search to search for journal articles within a specific discipline.
Collections owned by Watzek Library: Arts & Sciences I - IX, Jewish Studies, and Biological Sciences. The JSTOR collections contain the full text of several hundred scholarly journals, from their earliest issues up to 3-5 years ago. A wide range of subjects are covered in the arts and sciences, including language and literature, ecology, history, political science, mathematics, anthropology, sociology and philosophy. Through a partnership with ARTstor, JSTOR also can run a concurrent search for images, separating results into "Articles," "Images from Articles," and "ARTstor Images."
Leads to articles in left-leaning periodicals about politics, economics, and society.
Indexes the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. A secondary emphasis is on significant but little known sources of news and ideas. Other topics covered include the labor movement, ecology & environment, race & ethnicity, social & cultural theory, sociology, art & aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization. Historically significant early Left publications such as The People (est. NY 1891), and The Class Struggle (1931-1937) along with classic texts by Marx, Lenin, Trotsky, Engels and others, written in the formative years of the Left, also are covered. Many of the 774 sources indexed are unique; you won't find them indexed in API, the Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature or the Social Sciences Citation Index.
A collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies.
Centered on the discipline of law and legal topics, Legal Collection is a collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies. This database is an authoritative source for information on current issues, studies, thoughts and trends of the legal world. Legal Collection offers full text for more than 300 of the world‰Ûªs best law journals. Full text journals contained in this database include: American Journal of Criminal Law, California Law Review, and many more. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all journals in the collection. Full text information in this database dates as far back as 1965.
Full text of national, regional, and international newspapers, business, and legal sources and more.
Provides full text documents from over 6,000 news, business, legal, medical, and reference publications. Includes national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources; U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information; Shepard's Citationså¨ for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789; and Company Dossiers, with business journal articles, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
LGBT (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender) journals, magazines, regional newspapers and full text monographs.
LGBT Life with Full Text contains all of the content available in LGBT Life as well as full text for 50 of the most important and historically significant LGBT journals, magazines and regional newspapers, as well as dozens of full text monographs. The database includes comprehensive indexing and abstract coverage as well as a specialized LGBT Thesaurus containing over 6,400 terms. Full text content available in LGBT Life with Full Text includes The Advocate, Gay Parent Magazine, Girlfriends, GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian & Gay Studies, James White Review, ISNA News, Ladder, Lesbian Tide, New York Blade, ONE, Tangents, Washington Blade, and many more.
Provides indexing and abstracting of over 400 journals, including key library and information science periodicals, and full-text coverage of over 170 journals.
Subjects include automation, cataloging, censorship, circulation procedures, classification, copyright legislation, government aid, library associations and conferences, library equipment and supplies, personnel administration, preservation of materials, and more. Coverage reaches as far back as 1980.
Contains most content from series such as: Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Shakespeare Criticism, Literature Criticism 1400-1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, and Children's Literature Review
The 10 individual Gale series that comprise Literature Criticism Online represent a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres:
Contemporary Literary Criticism provides brief reviews, interviews, and criticism often around the time of publication.
Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism presents substantial excerpts from the best criticism on the major literary figures and nonfiction writers of 1900 to 1999.
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism presents overviews of f authors of 1800 through 1899 with chronologically arranged criticism representing the entire range of response to each author. Shakespeare Criticism This comprehensive survey of the Bard includes general and specific critical interpretations from the 17th century to the present.
Literature Criticism 1400-1800 This authoritative resource on the greatest writers of the late Middle Ages, the Renaissance and the Restoration eras fulfills a need for information on historical periods, literary trends and topics, and the achievements of noteworthy individuals.
Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism excerpts criticism on the works of philosophers, poets and playwrights, political leaders, scientists and writers from other genres. Poetry Criticism Support students and enhance the understanding of poetry lovers with this collection of biographical sketches, author portraits, primary bibliographies and much more.
Short Story Criticism deliver a historical survey of the critical response.
Drama Criticism For each play or playwright featured, a full range of critical opinion is presented, along with a biographical sketch, a chronological list of the writer's major works and more.
Children's Literature Review From Louisa May Alcott to Judy Blume, the most popular and influential authors of the genre are assessed through criticism of their major works.
Critical analyses, biographies and bibliographies of literary authors.
Includes the full-text content of "Contemporary Authors", "Contemporary Literary Criticism", and the "Dictionary of Literary Biography", as well as "Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature". Additional content includes: over 120,000 author biographies and full-text journal articles from more than 130 literary journals.
The Listener was a weekly publication, established by the BBC in 1929 as the medium for reproducing radio - and later, television - programs in print. It is our only record and means of accessing the content of many early broadcasts.
Full text of general interest magazines and other materials.
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 1,700 periodicals dating as far back as 1975 and covering all subject areas of general interest. Includes book reviews, biographical materials, and a variety of reference sources.
Comprehensive database covering the world's mathematical literature since 1940
MathSciNet provides web access to the citations and reviews of mathematical research literature contained in the Mathematical Reviews Database. The Mathematical Reviews Database is the database of bibliographic information and reviews created and maintained by the American Mathematical Society. It continues the tradition and extends the scope of the work begun by the paper publication Mathematical Reviews in 1940. Journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics research are covered. The Mathematical Reviews Database is published in a variety of formats, including MathSciNet, the monthly Mathematical Reviews, and the 17 issue/year Current Mathematical Publications.
National Library of Medicine's database covering the international literature on biomedicine, including dentistry and nursing. You can also access MEDLINE via: EBSCOHost | FirstSearch | Web of Science.
National Library of Medicine's database covering the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. It corresponds to the print indices: Index Medicus, Index to Dental Literature, and International Nursing Index. Many records include abstracts.
Mental Measurements Yearbook is a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Tests in Print is a bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.
"Mental Measurements Yearbook produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership. First published by Oscar K. Buros, the MMY series allows users to make knowledgeable judgments and informed selection decisions about the increasingly complex world of testing. MMY via EBSCOhost now includes the MMY Archive providing all yearbooks from the first edition in 1938, through the 18th yearbook released in 2010 raising the total number of full text reviews available on the product to over 7,000." "Also produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s)."
The Modern Language Association's bibliographic index of literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore from journals and series published worldwide. It indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies. It contains in each record a bibliographic citation for a journal article, book, or other item including information about the libraries that own the library resources. It now includes the MLA Directory of Periodicals, which provides full information on more than 4,000 journals and series in the MLA International Bibliography Master List of Periodicals. The Directory of Periodicals includes many of the periodicals that are indexed in the MLA International Bibliography database. The electronic Directory of Periodicals is updated every six months.
Available with your Multnomah County Library card, this database contains recordings of classical, jazz, popular, and world music; also contains video and text.
Music Online allows users cross search all of the music databases published by Alexander Street Press. Music Online brings together on a single cross-searchable platform the entire suite of Alexander Street Press music products that your institution subscribes to. Music Online can potentially cross-search any combination of these databases: African American Music Reference American Song Classical Music Library Classical Music Reference Library Classical Scores Library Contemporary World Music Dance in Video The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online Jazz Music Library Opera in Video Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
NUCMC is a catalog of historical manuscript collections in the United States.
NUCMC lists archival and manuscript collections in repositories across the U.S. Also contains links to other archival sites of interest. The Watzek Library also has print editions that cover pre-1986 in the stacks that contain records for archives added to the catalog before 1986: National union catalog of manuscript collections
Indexing and abstracts for articles, reviews, books and software in the area of New Testament studies. (1985-present)
An important research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu. The database contains more than 33,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 12,600 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts. Each year an additional 2,150 articles from more than 500 periodicals in numerous languages are selected for inclusion. In addition, nearly 850 current books are also summarized annually. Article coverage in the database dates back to 1985.
Provides access to full text articles, photos, and advertisements in the New York Times from 1851 through 2009.
The Historical New York Times provides full text and full image articles for the New York Times dating from 1851 through 2009. It has digital reproductions of every page of every issue, from cover to cover. The print New York Times Index is available in the Library and is useful for searching for specific topics, since the online version does not assign subject headings to articles.
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 domestic & international newspapers.
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
19th Century Collections Online is an archival collection of including monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more in both Western and non-Western languages.
19th Century Collections Online is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on archival collections of primary sources providing full-text, fully searchable content. The collection includes monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more in both Western and non-Western languages.
Indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, and multi-author works related to Old Testament studies. (1978-present)
The database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Abstracts from over 450 journals are included. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more. Coverage in the database dates back to 1978.
Full text from print titles like Opposing Viewpoints, Current Controversies, At Issues, Contemporary Issues and more. Includes the full text of related periodical and newspaper articles, pamphlets, statistics and and links to selected websites.
OLMIS provides information about 700 occupations, including occupational descriptions, licensing information, wages, occupational projections, educational requirements, schools offering training, and more.
Access to the Oregonian from 1987-present through the Multnomah County Public Library.
This resource contains recent articles from The Oregonian, the major daily newspaper in Portland, Oregon. It includes staff written news features, special interest stories, editorials, daily columns, letters to the editor, visual and performing arts reviews, and sports reports. Some obituaries are included. It does not include classified ads, photos, or advertisements.
Provides an introduction to the specialized literature within the fields of Buddhism, Classics, Environmental Science, Geology, International Relations, Medieval Studies, Renaissance and Reformation, Philosophy and Victorian Literature.
OBO is a library of disciplined-based subject modules. In each subject module, leading scholars have produced a literary guide to the most important and significant sources in an area of study they know best.
According to The Times, the Oxford English Dictionary is "the ultimate authority on the English language as well as a history of English speech and thought from its infancy to the present day". It is a unique source of scholarly information on the meaning, history and pronunciation of words both past and present.
A discovery tool for reference content, monographs, and journals from Oxford University Press.
Encompassing over 2 million items of content, with new items to be added in the months ahead, the Index is a free portal through which to cross-search Oxford and our publishing partners' acclaimed reference content, monographs, and journals. Students will find it intuitive and easy to use, an essential starting point for any research project; faculty can rest assured that their students are discovering peer-reviewed, high-quality sources.
Indexes articles on a wide range of public policy topics, national and international.
Indexes citations and abstracts for articles in periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources, and other publications from 120 countries. Includes materials in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish with English language abstracts and subject headings. Major areas covered include: administration of justice; agriculture, forestry and fishing, and agricultural policy; banking and public and private finance; business and service sector; culture and religion; economic conditions and policy; education and education policy; energy resources and policy; environment and environmental policy; government; health conditions and policy; human rights; international relations; labor conditions and policy; law and ethics; manufacturing and heavy industry; media, telecommunications, and information policy; military and defense policy; politics; population groups, population policy, and demographics science and technology; policy social conditions and policy trade and trade policy transportation; transportation policy
Index of papers presented at conferences worldwide.
Provides access to individual papers presented at conferences worldwide. A major research and covering every congress, symposium, exposition, workshop, and meeting added to The British Library Document Supply Centre's vast proceedings collection since October 1993. Papers First is a companion index to Proceedings First.
Indexing and abstracts of philosophy articles, books, and book chapters.
The Philosopher's Index provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
A compilation of more than 14,000 surveys conducted by over 1000 polling organizations in the U. S. and 100 other countries from 1986 to the present time.
Included in each record is the polling organization that conducted the work, the date the interviews were conducted, the release date of the information, the sample size and the universe. The pollsters included in the database are: US polling organizations e.g., Harris International, The Pew Center Universities e.g., Rice University, University of Maryland Newspapers e.g., New York Times, Los Angeles Times Television news organizations e.g., CBS, NBS, Fox, CNN International polling organizations e.g., Eurobarometer Special interest groups e.g., Boy Scouts, AFL-CIO Each of the 500,000 records reports a question asked and the responses given.
A high quality one-stop source for information on terrorism and security.
Praeger Security International Online (PSIO) is a one-stop source for information on terrorism and security, covering regional security, humanitarian and peace operations, weapons of mass destruction, armed forces, intelligence, military history, defense and national security, and military affairs.
Primo is the library's search engine for books at Watzek Library and at Pacific Northwest Academic Libraries via the Summit delivery system. It also contains audiovisual materials like DVDs and CDs as well as journal articles and ebooks.
An OCLC index of worldwide conference proceedings.
Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre. Contains in each record a list of the papers presented at each conference and Compliments the database called Papers First.
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of over 500 full text journals.
This collection offers information on everything from children•À_s health and development to cutting-edge pedagogical theory and practice. Professional Development Collection, designed for professional educators, provides a highly specialized collection of over 500 full text journals, including more than 300 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for nearly 800 journals. Examples of titles offered in Professional Development Collection include: Booklist, Curriculum Administrator, Education, Education Digest, Educational Leadership, High School Journal, Journal of Education, Journal of Educational Research, Journal of Learning Disabilities, Phi Delta Kappan, Reading Teacher, School Library Journal, and many others. The majority of full text titles included in the database are available in native (searchable) PDF, or scanned-in-color. Full text information in the Professional Development Collection dates as far back as 1965.
Provides 100% full-text, online access to more than 400 titles from prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.
A unique collaboration between libraries and the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies, providing 100% full-text, online access to over 400 titles from prestigious humanities and social sciences journals.
Comprehensive access to U.S. legislative publications and more.
Provides full text of Congressional hearings, bills, public laws, committee prints,Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, U. S. Code, and more. Indexes and abstracts Congressional publications from 1970 on.
RePEc is a free (unlike EconLit) effort to enhance the dissemination of research in economics, including working papers, journal articles, software components, author information, directory of institutions.
RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) is a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 58 countries and 35 U.S. states to enhance the dissemination of research in economics. The heart of the project is a decentralized database of working papers, journal articles and software components. Some RePEc material is freely available, but RePEc does not contain full-text journal articles; article links require subscription access. RePEc collaborates with EconLit to provide content from leading universities' working paper series to EconLit.
Comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States; reflects the history of 20th century America. Current coverage for this database includes the years 1890 through 1982.
Regional Business News incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database does not include any Portland publications but does include Arizona Business, Business North Carolina, Crain's New York Business (and other Crain Communications editions), Des Moines Business Record, Enterprise Salt Lake City, Fort Worth Business Press, Orange County Business Journal, Westchester County Business Journal, etc.
Provides abstracts of articles from over 5000 journals, books, reviews, dissertations, etc., in the field of music. (1969-present)
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is a comprehensive, ongoing guide to publications on music from all over the world, is an indispensable tool for scholars, students, librarians, performers, teachers, and music lovers. It provides broad yet detailed coverage and facilitates both focused research and browsing for readers of all levels. From hip hop to Handel, from ethnomusicology to music therapy, from elementary music education to advanced music theory, RILM is the first stop for the researcher who wants clear, verified bibliographic information, fully cited, abstracted, and indexed.
A unique, rich data source for US public opinion topics. It includes 650,000 questions and answers from 1935 through last week, gathered from all the major polling organizations in the country (Gallup, Harris, Pew, etc.)
Historical maps from the Sanborn fire insurance map company from 1867 to 1970 that show details of buildings and urban infrastructure.
Historical maps from the Sanborn fire insurance map company from 1867 to 1970 that show details of buildings (including construction materials, use of buildings, and name of owners), streets, lot lines, and neighborhood infrastructure like roads and water mains are included. Because the maps were published at different times, each one shows a snapshot of the neighborhood in a different historical era. Maps of hundreds of Oregon, Washington, and California towns and cities are included.
Indexes articles on military and naval art and science, operational warfare, joint planning, national and international politics, and other areas.
The Joint Forces Staff College Ike Skelton Library is a specialized military library, focusing on research in joint and multinational operations, military history and naval science, operational warfare, and operations other than war. Library staff members regularly scan the weekly news magazines, monthly and bimonthly journals such as Military Review, Armed Forces Journal, and quarterly publications, including NATO's Nations and Partners for Peace, RUSI Journal, and the Naval War College Review. Miscellaneous reports from RAND and the General Accounting Office are also indexed for SCAMPI. The resulting database serves as a guide to articles on military and naval art and science, operational warfare, joint planning, national and international politics, and other areas researched by JFSC faculty, staff, and students. The SCAMPI database covers the period from 1985 thru the present.
A part of the Web of Science, the SCI searches the references (citations) found in journal articles in the sciences. Coverage is 1980-present.
The Science Citation Index allows patrons to discover articles that have cited a past article or author in the science fields. This database is useful to find out how a certain article has influenced later research, to verify a citation, or to discover who else has done more recent research on a given topic.
This research discovery tool allows you to explore the CAS databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more.
Note: This product is available only to Lewis & Clark Chemistry faculty and students, who may request access from firstname.lastname@example.org.
Smithsonian Institute research databases focus on art and culture.
Access to a variety of databases, including the Smithsonian library catalogs, the Freer Gallery of Art Catalog, the Manuscripts & Photographic Collections Catalog, and the national Inventory of American Painting and Sculpture databases.
A part of the Web of Science database, the SSCI tracks 'who's citing whom' in the social sciences. Coverage is 1980-present.
The Social Sciences Citation Index allows patrons to discover articles that have cited a specific article or author in the social sciences fields (economics, political Science, sociology etc. This database is useful to find out how a certain article has influenced later research, to verify a citation, or to discover who else has done more recent research on a given topic.
Sociology and anthropology research database with over 2000 journals.
SocINDEX with full text features more than 1,910,000 records with subject headings from a 19,300 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. There is full text for 397 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1908, and 150 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for more than 720 books and monographs, and full text for 6,743 conference papers. It also contains abstracts for more than 815 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. The file provides data from more than 630 "priority" coverage journals as well as over 2,840 "selective" coverage journals. Extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included. Searchable cited references are also provided. SocINDEX with full text offers coverage from all sub-disciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.
One of the most important indexes to the literature of sociology, cultural anthropology and related disciplines. Indexes 1800+ journals and other literature.
Sociological Abstracts provides access to the latest worldwide findings in theoretical and applied sociology, social science, and policy science. Produced by Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, the database consists of all entries in the Sociological Abstracts database from 1963 on, plus the entire Social Planning/Policy & Development Abstracts (SOPODA) database, indexed since 1980. Sociological Abstracts features journal citations and abstracts; book, chapter, and association paper abstracts; and book, film, and software review citations.Major areas of coverage include: Culture and social structure Demography and human biology Economic development Environmental interactions Evaluation research Family and social welfare Health and medicine and law History and theory of sociology Management and complex organizations Mass phenomena and political interactions Methodology and research technology Policy, planning, forecast and speculation Radical sociology Religion and science Rural and urban sociology Social development Social differentiation Social psychology and group interaction Sociology of the arts, business, education Studies in violence and power Substance abuse and addiction Welfare services Women's studies
The First Nations Collection of the Southern Oregon Digital Archives consists of documents, books, and articles relating to the indigenous peoples of this bioregion. SODA has begun to collect and mount materials about many tribes in southwestern Oregon and northern California. Some of these nations include the Coos, Hupa, Karuk, Klamath, Modoc, Takelma, Shasta, Siuslaw,Cow Creek Band of Umpqua, Yahooskin, and Yurok nations. Over the past 30 years the Southern Oregon University Library has actively collected hundreds of federal and state government publications relating to the Southern Oregon Klamath-Siskiyou bioregion. Along with those publications we receive through the U.S. Government Printing Office and the Oregon State Library, SODA has made special efforts to collect "fugitive" and "gray" documents, those materials not normally distributed through these channels. Many are written by researchers that are not regular staff members of the state or federal government, but who contract with regional government offices to do environmental research.
Streaming video of 250 performances of leading plays.
Theatre in Video currently contains more than 250 performances of the world's leading plays, together with more than 100 film documentaries, online in streaming video - more than 500 hours in all. Hundreds of leading playwrights, actors and directors. Included are landmark performances such as The Iceman Cometh, Medea, Awake and Sing, Long Day's Journey Into Night, and Playboy of the Western World. Notable actors include Gene Wilder, Laurence Olivier, Richard Dreyfuss, Walter Matthau, Meryl Streep, Anthony Hopkins, Helen Mirren and more.
The goal of the Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era.
Founded in 1972 the TLG represents the first effort in the Humanities to produce a large digital corpus of literary texts. Since its inception the project has collected and digitized most texts written in Greek from Homer (8 c. B.C.) to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453 and beyond. TLG research activities combine the traditional methodologies of philological and literary study with the most advanced features of information technology.
Digital Archive of The Times of London for the years 1785-2007. Printed subject indexes to the Times can help locating relevant articles if the search results overwhelm.
As the 'world's newspaper of record' The Times of London has covered all major international events from the French Revolution to the War in Iraq. The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2006 makes 221 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th-, 20th-, and early 21st-century history, literature, culture, business, art and architecture, and more. Every complete page of every issue is full-text searchable — every headline, article, editorial, announcement, image and advertisement.
Authoritative information about Federal government enforcement, staffing and spending.
Web-based service for information about the federal government: detailed data about how it enforces the law, where it assigns its employees, and how it spends our money. Income and demographic statistics. The Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse (TRAC) is a data gathering, data research and data distribution organization associated with Syracuse University. See http://trac.syr.edu/aboutTRACgeneral.html for more information about TRAC.
Search or browse the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives, originally published in approximately 13,800 bound volumes for the period 1817-1980.
The bound, sequentially numbered volumes of all the Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives constitute a rich source of primary source material on all aspects of American history. Upon completion, the digital version of the Serial Set will consist of approximately 13,800 volumes and over 12 million pages.
Now available: 15th Congress - 62nd Congress, 2nd Session, 1817 - 1912 U.S. Congressional Serial Set Vols. 1 - 6280 Last Update: April 20, 2007
Ulrich's is the main periodicals directory. Use it to find out if journal is peer-reviewed and scholarly, a list of magazines about ultimate frisbee, or whether a specific journal is still being published.
This resource has a large bibliographic database of records describing serials published throughout the world. Ulrich's covers academic and scholarly journals, popular magazines, newspapers, and more.
Includes over 900 indicators in over 80 tables, organized in six sections: World View, People, Environment, Economy, States and Markets, and Global Links. The tables cover 152 economies and 14 country groups-with basic indicators for a further 56 economies.
WorldCat searches library catalogs from all over the United States, including Summit libraries and other academic and public libraries. The older Firstsearch. interface is due to go away but is still here for now.
Provides access to more than 135 million bibliographic records from library holdings around the world. All types of materials are listed, including books, sound recordings, musical scores, visual materials, and web resources. Includes some journal articles.
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science, international relations, law, and public administration & policy.
CSA Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, published by IFI / Plenum, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO, 1984-2000. The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. The serials list of the database is actively under construction, with a focus on expanding international coverage. The database covers over 1500 journal titles, of which over 60% are published outside the United States.